Skip to main content

Full text of "The handbook of Medway history : a condensed history of the town of Medway, Massachusetts"

See other formats


F 



!< D • 




(lass 
Book 



!z4l 



MssM* 



PRESENTED BY # 

Copy % 



1713. 1913. 

The Handbook 

.... OF .... 
A Condensed History of 

The Town of Medway, Massachusetts, 
By ORION T. MASON. 

Our old town lies beneath the hill, 
Its shady streets are wide and still, 
Its river murmers past the mill 
As years increase. 
The church and school retain their place, 
While on the whole a quiet grace 
Rests like God's blessing; on the race, 
In sweetest peace. 

— Rev. J. O. Knowles. 



G. M. Billings, Printer. 



CL^w 



^ 




ANCIENT ARMS AND ACCOUTREMENTS. 



PREFACE. 

This little pamphlet in a humble way aims to fill a his- 
torical want. Our town is this year two centuries old and its 
history is worthy of record and preservation. 

The compiler believes that the facts contained herein will 
be of value and interest to anyone who has any association 
whatever with Medway or Millis. 

Every fact recorded is believed to be true. 

I wish here to thank all friends who have in any way as- 
sisted. 

ORION T. MASON, 

.Medway, April 1, 1913. 



FIRST SETTLEMENTS 
IN MASSACHUSETTS COLONY. 



Salem first mentioned, Aug. 23, 1630. 
Charlestown first mentioned, Aug. 23, 1630. 
Boston first named, Sept. 7, 1630. 
Dorchester first named, Sept. 7, 1630. 
Watertown first named, Sept. 7, 1630. 
Roxbury first mentioned, Sept. 28, 1630. 
Medford first mentioned, Sept. 28, 1630. 
Marblehead first mentioned, July 2, 1633. 
Ipswich first named, Aug. 5, 1631. 
Newbury first named, May 6, 1635. 
Hingham first named, Sept. 2, 1635. 
Weymouth first named, Sept. 2, 1635. 
Concord first named, Sept. 3, 1635. 
Dedham first named, Sept. 8, 1636. 



EARLIEST SETTLERS 
AT BOGGESTOWE FARMS. 



1653, Nicholas Wood of Dorchester. 
1653, Thomas Ilolbrook of Dorchester. 
1653, Henry Leland of Dorchester. 
1653, Ilopestill Leland of Dorchester. 

1657, Daniel Morse of Medfield. 

1658, John Hill of Dorchester. 
1658, Thomas Breck of Dorchester. 
1658, Benjamin Bullard of Dedham. 
1658, George Fayerbanke of Dedham. 
1660, Thomas Bass. 

All of these, except Fayerbanke, settled on land now 
Sherbom. The sites of the dwellings built by them can in 
some instances be discerned at the present time. They all 
sleep in the old burying ground at South Sherborn, near 
Death's bridge, in unmarked graves, and their descendants 
are scatteied all over our country. 



SUMMARY OF IMPORTANT EVENTS OF 
MEDWAY, MASSACHUSETTS. 



1614. Charles River discovered by Capt. John Smith ; first 

called the Massachusetts River. 
1028. March 19. Plymouth Council sealed a patent of that 

part of New England between three miles south of 

Charles River and three miles north of the Merrimac 

from the Atlantic to the South Sea. 
1629. Royal charter giving power of government passed the 

seals. 

1636. Dedham, Incorporated September 7th. Its territory 
including all the lands along the easterly and souther- 
ly banks of the Charles River. 

1638. Extract from Dedham Records: "The 21st of ye 
seventh month, Jno. Rogers, and Jno. Fayerbanke ap- 
poynted to goe upon ye discovery of Charles River 
with such men as shall be by ye courts appoynted call 
them upon ye second day of ye next week." 

1649. Dedham granted lands west of Charles River three 
miles from east to west and four miles from north to 
south. This was the old grant, so called, in Medway, 
Its western line is just west of Christ Church in Med- 
way. 

1651. Jan. 11. Medfield incorporated a town with jurisdic- 
tion on west bank of the river. 

1652. First highway laid out on west bank across broad 
meadows. 

1653. Abraham Harding and Peter Adams have grants of 
land in Grape Meadows. 

"Great Bridge" across the river first mentioned in 
Medfield Records. 
1655. July 22. First white child born on the west bank of 
the river. Mehitable, daughter of Nicholas Wood. 



1658. Sergeant George Fayerbanke, son of Jonathan, of Ded- 
ham, became the first settler (on land afterward in the 
limits of Medway) at "The Farms." 

Med field votes to lay out uplands on the west side 
of river. 

The Palis ide built on George Fayerbanke' land on 
north side of Boggestowe Pond by settlers at "The 
Farms," as a refuge from Indians. 




SITE OF PALISADE. 

1659. General Court grants to Medfifld land in addition to 
their former bounds on the west side of the river, two 
miles east and west and four miles north and south. 
(This embraced what is now West Med way, Metcalf 
Station, the south part of Ilolliston, and the most of 
Medway) and was called the New Grant. 

John Fussell granted eight acres of upland, (now 
Union street, Millis). 

May 11. On same day. new grant made to Med- 
field, and three Quakers, Stephenson, Dyer, and Hen- 
derson, executed in Boston. 

1660. At Medfield annual town meeting, Feb. 6th, ordered 
that New Grant be divided among all the inhabitants in 
Mediield that were proprietors. 



8 

1660. One of the twelve copies of the Law Books allotted 
to Medfleld, placed with George Fayerbanke for the use 
of the inhabitants on that side of the river. 

April 20th. Ordered that highways be laid out in 
New Grant. (Vine Lane, Evergreen, Mechanics and 
Oak streets constituted one of these highways.) 

1661. Ralph Wheelock, founder of Medfleld, was the first 
man to draw by lot, land in the New Grant, 156 acres. 
(Taking in part of the Village.) 

Dwight's Causeway made a town road. (Now 
Dwight street in Millis.) 

Medfleld grants Robert Hinsdell 46 acres of land 
on Bog^estowe brook in exchange for a bell. 

1662. Joseph Daniel second white settler. (On farm now 
owned by Louis LaCroix of Millis.) 

1665. First wedding on the west bank. (Joseph Daniel and 
Mary Fayerbanke, daughter of Sergeant George Fayer- 
banke.) 

Committee chosen by the town to consider the 
complaint of George Fayerbanke and view the cartway 
across Boggestowe Brooke at ye mill. 

1669. Committee chosen by Medfleld to join with one from 
Mendon "for the settling of the Common Rode way 
from town to town." (Afterward the old Hartford Post 
Road ) 

Hinsdell sells his mill to Peter Woodward. 

1670. Highway from Great Bridge to Mendon laid out. 

1672. Boston and New York post established through Hart- 
ford, via Dedham, Medfleld and Mendon. 

Medfleld paid 2 It' 4s to John Awastmog, a Natick 
Indian, in settlement of his claim to land in the New 
Grant. 

1074. George Fayerbanke was a principal citizen in the new 
town of Sherborn from this date until 1681, holding 
town office several years. Medfleld afterward protest- 
ed and collected taxes from his estate. 



9 

167o. Sixty persons in Med field and the Farms subscribe to 
the new Brick College. (Harvard). 

Out of fourteen families at Boggestowe Farms, 
seven live within the limits of original Medway. 
George Fayerbanke, George Fayerbanke, Jr., Joseph 
Daniel, Jonathan Adams, Peter Calley, John Fussell 
and William Allen. (Thirty souls.) 

Mill in Boggestowe destroyed by Indians. 

1676. Medfield surprised at daybreak, Feb. 21st, by Indians 
under King Philip. Nearly half the houses and barns 
on the east side of the river burned. Seventeen per- 
sons killed. Savages retire across Great Bridge, which 
they burn, and hold a feast on what is now the Moses 
Adams farm in Millis. The spot is marked by a group 
of Tupello trees which have been called the King Philip 
tiees for over two hundred years. 




KING PHILIP TREES. 

John Fussell, nearly one hundred years old, burned 
by the Indians in Jonathan Ad, mis' house. All the 
rest of the dwellers at the farms were in George Fayer- 
banke's palisade. 

Jonathan Wood killed by Indians at Deaths bridge. 
His brother Eleazer struck down by a tomahawk, 
scalped and left for death, but afterwards recovered. 



10 

1(57(5. Five dwellings 'burned by the Indians on the west side 
of the river. (Those of George Fayerbanke, Jr., Joseph 
Daniel, William Allen, Jonath in Adams and Peter 
Calley.) 

Feb. 22. Indians make an attack on the palisades 
at the farms, but are repulsed and retire to the south- 
ward. 

Feb. 22. Fayerbanke palisade sheltered six fam- 
ilies from Sherborn side, numbering 38 souls, and six 
families from Med way side, 30 souls. 

May 6th. Another Indian attack on the palisades, 
burning arrows shot over and a cart loaded with burn- 
ing flax rolled down the hill in an attempt to fiie the 
. place. For a second time the Indians are repulsed and 
beaten off. 

July 2nd. A band of Indians found near the 
farms. With help from Medfield town, they are driven 
away and the war was ended in this locality. 

Abraham Harding completed the first lrarne house 
on this side of the river. 

1677. Josiah and John Rock wood build. (On land near Oak 

Grove Farm in Millis.) 

1678. John Richardson becomes a citizen on the west side of 
the river. (On the farm now occupied by E. F. Rich- 
ardson, a lineal descendant) 

1680. Peter Adams and Samuel Daniel remove to the Farms. 

1681. Vincent Shuttle worth settled near the Joseph Daniel 
place. He was afterward fined 4£ for deserting from 
the impress to fight Indians and was the first town pau- 
per. 

John Partridge, John Adams and John Clark move 
across the river and become settlers. 

Medfield votes to give fifty acres of land to anyone 
who would build a grist mill on the river. This mill 
was built where the Rockville Felt Mill now stands. 

1682. George Fayerbanke, Sr., the first settler, drowned 
whde crossing the river. 



11 

36^5. Colony of MassacbtTsetts Bay agrees to pay half the 
expense of building Great Bridge, "as it is a County 
way." 

Gamaliel Hinsdale was appointed to prosecute .John 
Suncharuang, an Indian, suspected of firing the mill. 
(At Kockville) 

li'.sH. The Great Bridge, burned by the Indians ten years 
previous, this year rebuilt. 

Granted Joseph Daniel the stream of Boggestowe 
Brook if he would maintain a grist mill. 

1688. Jonathan Adams, second, a settler on the west bank. 

John Pond built on the south bank of the river on 
Wrentham land. (This house, now standing and owned 
by Monroe Morse, is the oldest house in Medway ) 

1691. Oct. 7. Union of Massachusetts and Plymouth Colo- 
nics by Lloyal Charter. 

lti'.t.!. May 14. Sir Win. Phips arrives in Boston with new 
charter. 

169.'>. Samuel Hill, Joseph Daniel, 2nd, and Jonathan Fisher 
become settlers. 

George Fayerbanke and Joseph Daniel two of the 
selectmen of Medfield. 

1695. Joseph Daniel a selectman of Medfield. 

1698. Medfield raises Pit' 10s to be expended for schooling,, 
"50 shillings on the West Bank of the river." 

1699. 3£ raised for schooling on the West Bank ami Ser- 
geant Joseph Daniel chosen to take care of same. 

1700. "Bayed unto Peter Adams for his wife's keeping 
School on that side of the river, it being the full of his 
due, 2£ 9s lid." And Mrs. Adams was Medwav's first 
school teacher. 

1702. Black Swamp laid out in one hundred and twenty-three 
lots and given to Medfield owners. Twenty six allotted 
to settlers on the West Bank. 

1701. Voted school to be kept on both sides of the river, pro- 



12 




JOSEPH DANIEL HOUSE. 



portionately to the charges of the inhabitants on either 
side. 
1705. Medfield votes to build a new Meeting House. "The 
inhabitants on the West Side of the river shall have 
half their pay toward building refunded if they build a 
Meeting House on that side within twenty years." 

George Fayerbanke and Joseph Daniel are appointed 
and act on this committee in charge of building the 
new Meeting House. 

1710. Edward Clark moves from Medfield and builds the Clark 
Homestead, now standing in Millis, the oldest in town. 

Timothy Clark, brother of Edward, starts a tavern 
on the old Hartford Road. (Now the Dr. Emerson 
place, so called, in Medway ) 

1711. Timothy Clark, Constable to collect taxes on this side 
of the river. 

Nathaniel Whiting corues from Wrentham and builds 
a grist mill and dwelling at the falls on the river. (The 
site now occupied by the Sanford Mills. This property 
remained in the possession of his descendants until 
1864.) 



18 








OLD CLAHK HOl'SE. 

1712. July 12. The dwellers on the west bank of the river 
petition the General Court for a division. 

1713. The General Court recommends that Medfleld build an- 
other meeting house on the west bank of the river 
but on March 9th the town petitions declaring "their 
inability to do so." 

A committee sent out from Boston reports to the 
Court in favor of a division of Medfleld. 

George Fairbanks empowered by the General Court 
to notify and summon voters for the first town meet- 
ing. 

October 25th a bill was passed by the General Court 
for the incorporation of the Town of Med way (in the 
12th year of the reign of Queen Anne). Honorable Jo- 
seph Dudley, Provincial Governor of Massachusetts Bay. 

Nov. 23. First town meeting held at homeof Peter 
Adams. John Rocket chosen town clerk. John Rocket, 
Sergeant Samuel Partridge, Jonathan Adams, Jr., Ser- 
geant Jonathan Adams, Edward Clark, Selectmen. 

1714. Med way's proportion of the Province tax, 52£ 14s. 

First Meeting House built on Bare Hill. 

First death recorded in Town Book, Sarah Rocket. 



14 

1714. 22£ 9s 4d received from Medfield to help build the 
Meeting House. 

June 3. First birth recorded in Town Book, that 
of Samuel Richardson. 

First public worship in the town October 7th at the 
house of Peter Adams, whose drum called the people to 
meeting. 

Burial place laid out on Bare Hill. (Now the older 
part of the Millis cemetery.) 

First Church of Christ organized. 

£^■4-!' 



FIRST CHURCH. 

1715. Rev. David Demming called as Minister, with a yearly 
salary of 52 f. 

Rev. David Demming granted 60£ yearly by the 
town Sept. 12, and the same day he accepted 

Stony Plain Road laid out June 4th. 

Joseph Daniel, second settler, died, aged eighty. 

Granted to Rev. David Demming 28 acres south- 
ward of ye Meeting House. (Now owned by Charles La 
Croix in Millis.) 

Proprietors of undivided land in Medfield and Med- 
way hold a joint meeting. 

1716. Sarah and Abigail Allion first twins born in the 
town. 

Sarah Adams drowned in a spring near her fath- 
er's house April 1. 

1717. Rev. David Demming acknowledges his gratification 
and ministerial salary in the Town Book. 



15 

1717. May 13. l£ voted for building a pouDd and keeping 
a school. 

1718. Voted 2 6 for a school. 

1 7 I i» . Voted to put in a casement not to exceed four feet of 
glass in Meeting House. 

Voted the minister's pew to be next the pulpit. 

1720. Highway laid out from "Bouggusty Neck to ye brook 
commonly known as Charles Brook." 

1721. First tea set brought into town by Timothy ('lark, 
Tavern Keeper. (The sugar howl is still in the posses- 
sion of a descendant.) 

1722. Rev. David Demming dismissed from the pastorate of 
the First Church at his request. 

.May 14. Town loans rated at "12 pence on ye 
pound." Xo person to borrow above 20£ nor under 
IU<£ and nni' Bonus man he required." 

17-23. Dea. Peter Adams died Dee. 8th. 

1724. Kev. Nathan Bucknam of Boston called to First 
Church. 

Dee. 23 Rev. Nathan Bucknam ordained and in- 
stalled at twenty-one years of age. 

3£ 10s voted to make glass windows in the Meet- 
ing House. 

172. r >. Fence Viewers first chosen. 

172i). On Nov. 30th the town committee perambulated the 
hounds with a Holliston committee "until the later not 
being fully satisfied broke off." 

First Noon House built by Lieut. Bullard and Sergt. 
Hill near the Meeting House. 

Jonathan Adams first representative to the Gene- 
ral Court. 

The northern part of the New Grant called Mucks- 
tpiit in the town record. 
172^. March 1. All town bills paid and If Is 9d in the 
treasury. 



16 

1730. Town fined 16£ lis 7d for not sending a representa- 
tive. 

Voted "to buy a burying cloth 'yt is deacent for ye 
town' ". 

Jonathan Adams representative. 

About this date Bears ceased to be troublesome 
around Winthrop Pond. 

1731. Proposed to have Meeting House in the "Senter" of 
the town. Negatived. 

Voted to sing Psalms the old way. Jonathan Par- 
tridge chosen to lead. 

1732. Feb. 9. Selectmen warned Mary Burnit out of town 
before Feb. 13th. 

Voted 30s to Doctor Jairo for "flsicking Hezikiah 
Vickkors". 

1733. Potatoes began to be planted in Massachusetts. 

Voted to choose three assessors to make the rates. 
Paid John Richardson for sweeping the Meeting 
House 1 year, 16s. 

Voted swine shall go at large. 

1733. On March 5, Rev. Mr. Bucknam came into open town 
meeting and declared that his salary was not sufficient 
for his support, whereupon the town voted him 20£ 
more. 

1734. Selectmen procure a book at the town's expense to re- 
cord births and marriages in. 

Town Pound built by Michael Metcalt' for 7£ 

1735. Edward Clark representative. 

"Paid Mr. Salter of Boston for one hundred weight of 
bullets, for one half bbl. of powder and one hundred 
flints 15£ 15s." 

Several families living near Long Walk brook in 
Wrentham set off to Medway. 

1736. First Covenant signed by members of the First Church. 

Rev. Nathan Bucknam sold his Negro Boy London 
to Jasper Adams for 14 Of. 



17 

1737. First schoolhouse built. 

Town paid Seth Harding for "killing a 'wild catt 
1 £." 

Eight voters request to be set off froai the New 
Giant to Holliston, "negatived." 

Samuel Metcalf, representative. 

Mar. 7. Voted to build three schoolhouses, one at 
the East part, one in the New Grant, and one at u ye 
Bent of ye river." 

.May 16. Town refused to grant any money for 
building schoolhouses. 

1738. Jeremiah Adams, representative. 

Litutenant Daniel Richardson and Deacon John 
Barber first jurymen drawn from Medway. 

1739. Edward Clark, representative. 

London and Sambo, negroes baptized by Mr. Buck- 
nam. 

Town joins with Wrentham in building a bridge 
over Charles River at "The falls." ( The site of the 
Franklin Bridge in Medway.) 

1740. First persons bound out by the town. Elizabeth and 
Mercy Vickors bound out to Hugh Brown. 

Edward Clark first town treasurer. 

1741. Church refused to allow baptism of a negro child until 
of age. 

Jeremiah Adams, representative. 

Town paid 48s to Samuel Daniel for "boarding ye 
School Mrs. and for house room to keep ye school." 

Stepht n, slave of Lieut. Timothy Clark, and Charles, 
slave of Capt. Nathaniel- Whiting, baptized by Rev. Na- 
than Bucknam. 

174*2. Town paid almost i 20£ this vear for bounties on squir- 
rels and blackbirds killed. 
17 b!. Oct. 13. "Thanksgiving Day for ye Kings victory." 
1744. Town jiays 45£ 5s to find out the exact centre of its 
territory. 

Town meeting called to order and moderator chosen 



18 

in the open air on the exact geographical centre of the 
town. Then adjourned to the Meeting- House on Bare 
Hill and voted not to build a new meeting house in the 
centre of the town. 

1745. Captain Nathaniel Whiting impressed sixty-five men 
this year for service in the French and English war. 

45£ expended this year for maintaining five schools. 
July 18. Thanksgiving day fjr victory at Cape 
Briton. 

1746. Upon the incorporation of the west precinct in Wren- 
tham, six families set off from Medway to Wrentham 
where they originally belonged. 

30£ old tenor paid to "New Grant Neibors" for four 
months 1 preaching in the winter time. 

Esquire Edward Clark died, aged 67. 

Paid Uriah Morse for entertainiag the Selectmen 1£ 
6s. 

1747. Town votes not to maintain two ministers, one at the 
east and one in the New Grant. 

Benjamin Gould killed by a tree in Black Swamp, 
Jan. 14. 

1748. Seven storms in February and enormous drifts. 

Captain Nathaniel Whiting and forty-eight other in- 
habitants of the New Grant petition the General Court 
for a new precinct. 

Paid 1 £ to John Carpenter for "marching soldiers." 
West precinct established by the General Court. 

1749. Voted "an equal or suitable quantity of Cyder Rum 
and Beer and a baiting furnished to the men engaged 
in raising the new meeting-house at first Precinct." 

Separation of town and church in town records. 

First Meeting House burned Jan. 18. 

First precinct organized Fob. 3rd. 

Second meeting house built on Bare Hill and occu- 
pied first time May 2 1st. 

First meeting house built in west precinct, site op- 
posite Winthrop St. 

25 £ voted for a military company in the New Grant- 



19 

1750. "Chicking Brook" first mentioned in Town Book. 

Town stocks built. 

Second Church organized, covenant signed by thir- 
ty-four persons. 

SecoDd burying place laid out. (Xow the old part 
of Evergreen Cemetery, West Medway.) 

1751. Mendoo Association of ministers formed. 

First town meeting held at the west precinct May 
15th. 

lT'i-j. Rev. David Thurston of Wrentham ordained as minis- 
ter of the Second precinct Church June 23. 

1753. Captain Nathaniel Whiting and John Pond chosen 
ruling elders of the west precinct Church. 

Hope Lovell accepted by the town as constable 
"nstwithstanding his being removed out of the town 

bounds." 

1753-4. Year of the great mortality in Sherborn and Ilollis- 
ton ; 53 persons died in Holliston in two months, 41 in 
'2-2 days. Medway apparently exempt. 

1754. Jonathan Adams, Jr., gave the town 1 £ 4s and it was 
accepted and put in the town treasury. 

Mr. Eleazer Adams,a Baptist, fined for non-payment 
of Ministerial rates. On his refusal to pay the tines, he 
was carried to Boston and imprisoned. 

Sixty men from the town did duty in the French 
and English war. 

L755. "Dear Reives" John Carpenter and Moses Thompson. 

1756. Forty -two men did duty as Provincial soldiers. 

1757. The French family of Neutrals assigned to the town, 
cost 9£ 18s 2d tli is year. 

1758. Jonathan Adams, representative. 

Ninety-four men served in the war against the 
French this year. 

One hundred weight of heef bought foi the French 
family. 

1759. Fifty men on the war pay roll. 



20 

1759. Seventeen Med way men in Fort Cumberland, Nova 
Scotia, in Captain Adams' company. 

1760. Elisha Adams, representative. Also '63 and '65. 

Voted to allow four pence an hour to a mm that 
labors on the roads. 

Voted to build a house for the poir, eighteen feet 
square, without chimney room. 10.€ voW. 

Aug. 20. The General Court assigns a family of 
French Neutrals to this town. James O.niro, his wife 
Lucy, Nistazza, the daughter, and Barzilla, the son. 

On Nov. 24th Lieutenant Theophilus Clark, aged 
forty-four, and his son, Jotham, aged seventeen, having 
been engaged in the defence of their country, on the 
way from the camp to their friends, they died. 

1761. Town votes to appropriate the 10€ voted the year 
previous for a house for the poor for schools. 

1762. Sambo, a negro man, late of Wrentham, warned out of 
town. 

1763. Elisha Adams, representative. 

Voted to sell the law books now in the treasury 
for the most they will fetch. 

The Stamp Act passed by the English Parliament. 

1764. 30£ spent for schools. 

1765. First Town Census. Houses 123, females 388, males 
380, negroes 17. Total 785. 

Elisha Adams representative to General Court and 
this year the town votes instructions for his conduct, 
ordering him to work against the Stamp Act. 

1766. Jonathan Adams, representative. Also '67. 

A committee of three chosen to seat the meeting 
house. 

1767. Jonathan Adams, representative. 

1768. Elisha Adams, representative. 

Ishmael and Hannah Coffee, negroes, have sixteen 
children born to them between this date and 179 3. 

Town votes to accept from Widow Mary Adams 
'•her ne<n'o and other articles." 



21 

1768. Town concurs with town of Boston by vote "to 
lessen the use of superfluities imported from afar." 

1769. Jonathan Adams, representative. 

Reverend David Thurston granted dismissal from 
church in second precinct. 

Special seats built in meeting house of First 
Church for negroes. 

Caesar Hunt, a slave, buys his freedom of Joseph 
Lowell for 13C "is 8d. 

1770. Town votes unanimously to forego the purchase or use 
of tea. 

Negroes, Mulattoes and Indians prohibited sitting 
or standing in any of alleys or stairs of the meeting 
house. 

Coffee begun to be used. 

Voted to forego the purchase of any goods that are 
imported from Great Britain. 

First auditing of accounts of the town officers. 

1771. Town paid 2s to Simeon Fisher "for rum for workmen 
in the water at the bridge." 

1772. Aug. 16. "Dyed. Seth Barber, aged some minuets" 
Town records. 

Bounty of Is offered for each crow killed in town. 

177:i. Committee of Correspondence chosen by the town. 

Rev. David Sanford of New Milford, Connectieut, 
installed minister over church in west precinct, 
April 14. 

Town votes that any head of a family buying or 
using tea will be viewed as an enemy of the country. 
1774. Daniel Adams first Medway boy to graduate from 
Harvard. 

Town adds 100 lbs. of powder, 200 lbs. of bullets 
and 200 flints to its stock of ammunition. 
Two iron field pieces bought by town. 
A subscription gotten up and forwarded to the 
suffering people in Boston. 

Town doubles its store of ammunition. 



1774. Paid Captain Turner for iron work and a journey 
for the cannon 6£ 5s. 

13£ 10s voted to the minute men of the town as a 
bounty. 

1775. Jan. 9. Thirty pounds voted to encourage enlistment 
in the military company. 

Captain Jonathan Adams and Lieutenant Moses 
Adams, delegates to Provimial Congress at Watertown. 

The two cannon carried to camp at Roxbury and 
thus lost to the town. 

Church in west precinct abolishes half way cove- 
nant. 

Second Church withdraws fellowship from First 
Church. 

Forty three coats furnished to soldiers in service 
of Massachusetts. 

Captain Jonathan Adams chosen repiesentative to 
the Provincial Congress at Cambridge. 

April 19. Thirty-seven men from the east parish 
and twenty-seven from the New Grant answer the 
Concord and Lexington alarm. 

Nineteen men from Old Grant serve at Roxbury 
and Cambridge eight months. 

George Washington is said to have dined at the 
Richardson Tavern in East Medway on his way to 
Cambridge. 

Twenty- two men from Medway serve under Cap- 
tain Boyd at Fort No. 2. 

Several Medway men fought at Bunker Hill. 

Town refuses with other towns to divide Suffolk 
County and form a new one to be called Hancock. 

3 £ 4s 6d paid for crows and hawks killed this year. 

Town ceases to issue the town warrants in his 
Majesty's name. 

Medway sends two representatives to General Court 
this year, Moses Adams and Jonathan Adams. 
1776. Oct. 26. John Barber dies at Ticonderoga. 

Oct. 26. Lieutenant John Pond died in the Con- 
tinental service at Fort George. 



23 



1776. Aug. 23. Seth Mason died at Ticonderoga. 

Oct. 17. Nathan Fisher died at Ticonderoga. 

Rev. David Sanford commissioned chaplain of Col. 
Samuel Robinson's regiment, by command of the Ameri- 
can Congress, at Watertown, Jan. 23rd. 

Sixteen men serve with the Continental army in 
New York and eleven in the "Jarsees". 

For the first time warrants issued in the name of 
the Government and People of Massachusetts Bay. 

Elijah Clark, representative. Also '77-'78-'79. 

Population, White, 897. Negroes, 13. 

1777. Ozias Metcalf died Nov. "29th in the service at Phila- 
delphia. 

Taxes of twenty- four Continental soldiers abated 
on account of the suffering and hardship they endured 
the year previous. 

1778. Josiah Ide, aged 21, died June 10 in Falmouth, Casco 
Hay, as he was returning from Privateering. 

1779. Major Luther Metcalf starts the Cabinet business in 
Medway. (On the site of the Village Inn.) 

Vote of town on proposed form of government for 
the State of Massachusetts Bay. For approbation 2, 
for disapprobation 58. 

lo'v. David Sanford delegate to the Cambridge 
convention to form a constitution for the Common- 
wealth 

Esquire Nathaniel Partridge chosen delegate to the 
Concord convention to regulate the prices of necessaries. 




OLD SCHOOL !!• 



24 

1780. Jonathan Adams, representative. Also '81. 

Honorable John Hancock received 24 out of a total 
of 28 votes in Med way for Governor. 

New Grant petitions for a separate township, but 
the project is passed in the negative. 

Town tax for the year 61213£. 

May 19. The famous dark day. 

Slavery abolished by the Constitution. 

Town lost thirteen men in the Revolutionary war. 

Col. Amos Turner starts scythe and edge tool busi- 
ness at "Rock Bottom." 

Job Harding builds Tavern and store at Medway. 
(On site now occupied by New Medway Hotel.) 

Town votes unanimously, 127 voting, not to accept 
tbe new State Constitution 

Town votes to endorse a plan in- a new County, 
with Medfleld as the Shire town. 

John Harding's freed negro, Boston, takes name of 
Prince Royal and afterward accumulates considerable 
property. 

1781. One silver dollar worth seventy five dollars in paper 
money. 

Dollars mentioned for first time in town records. 
Theodore Clark, Gentleman, commissioned Second 
Lieutenant of Militia by Governor Hancock. 

1782. Abijah Fairbank, constable. 

Captain Moses Adams, representative. Also '83. 

1783. Jabez Shumway buys the farm of William Ellis at 
West Medway. It remained in the Shumway family 
for one hundred and twenty years. 

1784. Joseph Lovell, representative. 

1785. Elijah Clark, representative. 

Job Harding buys half interest in Samuel Bullens' 
Fulling mill at Medway, and also operates a saw-mill. 

About this time, according to Rev. Nathan Buck- 
naiii, the annual average of births was 22, deaths 6, 
marriages 12. 



25 

178ft. Number of inhabitants 850, dwelling houses 187, 
other buildings 144. 

Town "Produces Plentiful Crops of Grain many 
times more than is sufficient for ye Inhabitants." Rev. 
N. Bucknam. 

Fiist time a middle initial appears in town records. 
Amos H. Albee warned out of town. 

1786. Town votes to petition the General Court for a more 
easy passage for salt water fish up Charles River. 
(Note: In early times herring and alewives used to 
spawn in Populatic Pond and the brooks in the town.) 

1787. Eli Bullard first graduate from Vale. 

Moses Richardson representative, also '88-'89-'90- 
'91-'92-'93, his compensation fixed by town at 4s (3d per 
day; all in excess of this sum paid by state to return 
to town. 

1788. Rev. Benjamin Green settled as colleague with Rev. 
Nathan Bucknam at First Church. 

1789. Samuel Hill, the last one of the original founders of 
the town, dies this year. 

President George Washington passes through 
Med way on his return from Boston to Hartford. 

Rev. Joel Hawes, D. D , born at the old Ilawes 
place in Med way. 

1790. Population 1035. 

May 3. The choice of a representative was put off 
four days on account of the military companies being 
mustered for viewing arms. 

Comfort Walker, millwright, moves from Killing- 
lev, Conn., and builds homestead and mill on the Flat 
in Med way. 

1791. Selectmen approbate Moses Richardson to be an inn- 
holder and Luther Met calf and Abner Ellis "retailers of 
spirituous lyquors" for the year ensuing. 

1792. In January the selectmen warned 155 persons living in 
the New Grant to depart from the town. Among this 
number were Major Luther Metcalf and family, Philo 



26 

Sanford and family, Comfort Walker, Jabez Shumway, 
and many other substantial citizens. 

In February the selectmen warn 137 persons in the 
Old Grant to leave the town of Medway. (About this 
date the town ceases to issue these warnings.) 

Metcalf homestead (now the Village Inn), built at 
Medway. 
1793. Town poor bid off to the lowest bidder. Simeon Cut- 
ler gets Widow Wheeton at 4s 5d per week, Elisha 
Richardson, the Widow Hannah Richardson at 3s. 

Present Norfolk County established. 

A hner Morse, afterward noted as a local historian, 
born in Vied way. 

Town votes not to set apart any building for 
"enooulating with the Small Pox." 
17 94. First year swine were not allowed to go at large. 

1795. Town accounts drawn up for the first time this year in 
dollars, cents and mills. 

First guide boards set up in the town. 

Price fixed for a man or a good team at work on 
the highway 6c per hour. 

Feb. 6. Rev. Nathan Bucknam died at the age of 92. 
Seventy-one years he was pastor of the First Church, a 
record not eqalled before or since in Massachusetts. 

Feb. 12. Rev. NathaH Bucknam buried on a 
Thursday afternoon. Rev. Mr. Haven of Dedham, Rev. 
Mr. Prentiss of Medfield and Rev. Mr. Caryl of Dover 
officiating. The entire church walked in the procession. 

Eliakim Adams, representative. Also '96. 

Job Harding's Mill for dressing cloth built on the 
Flat in Medway. 

Misunderstanding arose this year between the first 
and second churches that lasted thirty-two years. 

1796. May 1. Mrs. Bucknam, widow of Rev. Nathan Buck- 
nam, died, aged 91 yearj. She and her husband had 
lived together 67 years. Her funeral was conducted by 
Rev. Mr. Raven of Dtdhain. 

May 25. Eighteen members form the Medway 



branch of the Norfolk and Bristol Horse Thief Detect- 
ing Society. 

Abner Morse allowed his proportion on school 
money, "die to pay at Sherborn, where he has privi- 
leges:- 

171»7. .Moses Richardson, representative. 

1798. Rev. Luther Wright pastor of First Church. 

1799. Abner Morse, representative. Also 1800. 

1800. Population 1050. 

Job Harding sells out his store and tavern, and his 
mill to Capt. William Pelt and goes to Maine. 

For many years all newly-married men were elect- 
ed "Hog Reives" at the annual April meeting. 
1 800. Capt. Nathan Jones first licensed auctioneer in Medway. 

Moses Daniels drowned Oct. 20th in the flume of 
his grist mill in Boggestowe brook. 

1801. Moses Richardson, representative. Also 1802. 



1 









V ^T. 



THE OLD COTTON MlLL. 



28 

1802. First year cattle and horses were restrained from go- 
ing at large. 

Court of Sessions orders many changes and altera- 
tions to straighten the old Middle Post Road. (Village 
street.) 

1803. First Post-Office established in town at Medway. Cap- 
tain William Felt, Postmaster. (None nearer than 
Marlboro on the north, Dedham on the east, Wrentham 
on tbe south and Mendon on the west.) 

John Ellis, representative. 

Town votes "that poore persons that have but one 
cow may let their animals go at large." 

1804. Selectmen give an order for 112.00 to Major Nathan 
Jones for his services in the year 1803 and 1804, in sell- 
ing the town's wood and timber, "and for spirituous 
liquors necessarily spent therefor." 

Moses Ki3hardson, representative. 
First printed list of voters. 

1805. First school committee chosen. School districts formed, 
six in number. 

Abner Morse, representative. 

Seven paupers bid off to the lowest bidder this 
year. 

1806. Jeremiah Daniels, representative. 

Mill for making cotton goods built on the site of 
the Whiting grist mill at Medway. 

Medway Cotton Manufacturing Company organized 
by Philo Sanford, Luther Metcalf, Comfort Walker, Capt. 
William Felt, Dr. Nathaniel Miller, Dr. Abijah Rich- 
ardson, and John Blackburn, (the third in the country). 

Captain Mason, with the selectmen, inspected the 
cartridges belonging to the tiwn for the u-e of "the 
infantry and calvary of the town." 

Cyrus Bullard, master of a vessel, drowned at St. 
Thomas in the West Indies. 

1807. Selectmen approbate six persons to sell liquors in the 
town. Moses Richardson and Nathan Jones, innkeep- 



29 




RESIDENCE OF HON LUTHER METCALP 

ers, and William Felt, Moses Bullen, Ethan Cobb and 
Calvin Cutler, retailers. 

Turnpike built through Black Swamp. 

General Eliakin Adams died Nov. 30. 

1808. Abner Morse, representative. 

1809. Montgomery Lodge of Masons meet in Levi Adams' 
tavern, West Medway, from 1809 until 1817. 

Dr. Oliver Dean commenced practice of medicine in 
town. 

Moses Richardson, representative. 

Oct. 7. Adam Bullard drowned on his passage 
from Hull, England, to New York. 

1810. Captain William Felt, representative. 

Rev. David Sanford died April 7. 

Population 1213. 

Captain William Felt started the manufacture of 
straw goods, employing women to sew hats. (The be- 
ginning of the industry in Medway ) 



30 

1810. Powder house built on the Edward Clark farm to 
store town ammunition in. 

Joel Hawes teaches school in town for 118 per 
month. 

1811. Nathaniel Whiting homestead, built in 1711, burned. 

Philo Sanford builds the Sanford mansion, after- 
ward occupied by Rev. David Sanford, in Medway. 

Medway Cotton Manufacturing Company's mill 
burned and rebuilt the same year. 

Samuel Richardson, first child born in Medway, 
died Feb. 10th, in his 99th year. 

Captain William Felt and associates build lower 
mill at Medway. 

Moses Richardson, representative. 

1812. Nathaniel Lowell, representative. Also '13. 

Five Medway men served in the war of 1812. 
Great boom at Factory Village ; three mills, two 
large tenements, one store and several residences built. 

1813. Century sermon preached by Rev. Luther Wright, 
Nov. 4th, at the First Church. Text: "This day shall 
be unto yon for a memorial." 

"Yellow" mill built at Medway. 

Joel Hawes first Medway graduate from Brown 
University. 

Selectmen appoint an Engine Company at Medway. 

Town passes a vote to form the vvh )le oown into 
one religious precinct and to build a meeting house on 
the old Edward Clark farm, but the vote was never car- 
ried out. 

Metcalf Hunt & Co. build a cotton mill at West 
Medway. 

1814. Levi Adams' tavern started, (on Holliston land) now 
West Medway. 

Simeon Fuller starts the first store in West Med- 
way on "Rabbitt Hill." 

Rev. Jacob Ide ordained and installed pastor of 
the Second Church in West Medway. 



31 

1 s 1 4 . Second meeting house of the Second Church built 
on Rabbitt Hill. 

Parish house built in West Precinct across the 
way from the secon 1 meeting h >use out of the timbers 
of the old first meeting house. 

.May town meeting - held in new parish house. 

Town's April warrant calls for the election of two 
"Cenators." 

Sixteen dollars per month voted to all soldiers 
from this town. 

Hell for Second Precinct meeting- house bought of 
and cast by Paul Ucvere. 
1815. Deacon Samuel Allen and Captain William Green en- 
gage in the manufacture of bass viols and other musi- 
cal instruments at West Medway, in the old Plympton 
house. 

Cotton Mill built on river at West Medway. 

Joseph Adams graduated from Yale College. 

The great September gale wrought havoc in Med- 
way, uprooting huge trees and blowing over the stee- 
ple of the meeting house of the First Precinct. 

Tythiugmen ordered to put a stop to all unneces- 
sary travel on the Lord's day. 

New meeting house built on Bare Hill, First Pre- 
cinct. 
1 8 1 6. First schoolhouse built at "Factory Village." 

Thread mill built by Sewall San ford at .Medway. 

The cold year ; frost every month ; thick ice 
foimed September 2t>th. 

Rev. Luther Bailey, pastor of First Church. 

Bell Foundry started at Fist Medway by Col. llol- 
brook, and first bell cast. 

West Parish library started March I lth. 

Rev. Jacob Ide homestead built. 

School district made of Factory Village. 

Town votes, 52 to 24, to oppose the separation of 
the New Grant and its incorporation as a separate 
township. 



32 

1817. Proprietors of common land in Medfield and Medvvay 
close up affairs and divide a surplus of $152.80. 

Kev. Jacob Ide publishes his famous sermon on In- 
temperance. 

Dr. Oliver Dean becomes manager of Med way Cot 
ton Manufacturing Company and remains in this posi- 
tion until 1826. 

June 24. Celebration of St. John's day by Mont- 
gomery lodge, A. P. & A. M. 

1818. The Stars and Stripes become the National flag. 

Montgomery lodge, Masons, build a second story 
on the Parish house at the West Precinct and use it as 
a lodge room until 1837. 

Comfort Walker and son build a cotton factory and 
machine shop at Rock Bottom. 

Town votes this year to hold its town meeting two 
years out of three at East Medway and one at West 
Med way. 

Mar. 4. Dedication of Masons' Hall, West Parish. 

1819. Second Post office established in town at East Medway. 
Timothy Hammond, Esq , postmaster. 

A Baptist society formed in town. 

1820. Population 1525. 

Captain William Felt delegate to the Constitu- 
tional Convention in Boston. 

Michael Martin, alias "Capt. Lightfoot," a noted 
highwayman who stole Stephen Adams' colt, taken in 
Grafton. Tried in the old Adams house, now owned by 
Richard Mooney. Taken to Cambridge and afterwards 
executed for murder. 

1821. Town's committee recommends the following as school 
books : Alden's Speller, Murray's Grammar, Walker's 
Dictionary, and the New Testament. 

First manufacture of carpets by machinery in this 
country started in a small mill on Chicken Brook in 
West Medway by Alexander Wright and Henry Bur- 
dett. 



33 

18*22. Dr. Abijah Richardson, a surgeon in the Revolution, 

and a noted doctor, dies, aged 70. 

William T.Adams, (Oliver Optic), born on Ellis 
Street, Medway, July 30th. 

* George Barber, .Jr., representative. Also 'lit. 

Charles C. Allen, 17 years of age, made a brass 
clock which still keeps time in the meeting house of the 
Second Precinct. 

1823. Seneca Barber, representative. 

First Baptist meeting house built on Turnpike, 
West Medway. 

Luther Metcalf and others petition the General 
Court to incorporate the New Grant into a separate 
township. 

Town votes to alternate its meetings equally be- 
tween the old and the new grants. 

Brick school house built at East Medway. 

Universalist services held in the new Baptist 
church until 1830. 

Mucksquit ceded to llolliston and present bound- 
ary established between the two towns. 

Job Partridge killed by being thrown from a 
wagon. 

1825. Seth Harding drowned through the ice on Populatic 
Pond, Jan. 28th. 

Medway's vote for governor: Levi Lincoln, 12."); 
all others, 2. 

Mt. Lebanon Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, insti- 
tuted in Masonic Hall, West Medway. Addresses by 
Rev. Paul Dean, Grand High Priest, and Rev. Jacob Ide. 

Town subscribes $114.28 towards Bunker Hill 
monument. 

Joseph I,. Richardson, representative. Also 1831. 

1826. George Barber and Alexander Wright visit England. 

Stephen Adams started Cabinet making in West 
Midway and conducted business in the same shop for 
52 years. 



34 

1*26. Warren Levering, representative. Also '27-'29-'30-'31- 
'35-'46. 

Town purchases a farm for its poor in East Med- 
way, on Farm street. 

1827. Captain Joseph Lovell, a soldier of the Revolution, 
dies Oct. 2nd, aged 86. 

Voted that the inmates of the town farm use no 
liquor stronger than beer or cider, except those who 
labor hard on the farm. 

1828. Boot business first started in West Med way by Wil- 
lard Daniels. 

First year three selectmen are chosen. 

Andrew Jackson receives seven votes in Medway. 

1829. Sewell Sanford appointed postmaster at Medway by 
President Jackson. 

This year English hay is valued at 112.00 per ton, 
Rye straw at 14.00, Oats 40c per bushel, Pork 10c per 
pound, Cider $1.25 per barrel, Butter 16c per pound, 
Sausages 10c per pound. 

1830. Population 1756. 

Town votes that "it shall be dishonorable to treat 
or be treated with ardent spirits at home or abroad." 

1831. Joseph L. Richardson, representative. (Two chosen 
this year.) 

1832. Cholera cases in town. 

Rev. Abijah Baker conducts the Medway Classical 
Institute at the Village school house. 

Paul Daniel, representative. Also '34 -'39. 

1833. Amos Bullard first Medway graduate from Amherst 
College. 

First board of health chosen. 

Rev. William Bowen pastor of Baptist church. 

Eight cents an hour voted "to a good man on the 
highway, and none other." 

Paul Daniel chosen representative and declined 
serving. 

1834. "Rock Bottom" first mentioned in town records. 



35 



y" 



Jin 






BIRTHPLACE OP "OLIVER OPTIC." 



1834. Third post office established in town at West Med- 
way. Olney Foristall, postmaster. 

1835. First tire engine brought into town by the Madway 
Cotton Manufacturing Company. 

George II. Ilolbrook, representative. 

1836. Seventh bell for Harvard college cast at Ilolbrook's 
bell foundry. 

Honorable Warren Lovering a member of the Gov- 
ernor's Council. He also served in this position in 
1837-38. 

First meeting to agitate for a steam railroad from 
Woonsocket Falls to Boston held at Squire Metcalf's 
counting house. 

Rev. Aaron Ilaynes of Middleton, Vt., pastor of 
Baptist Church. He afterwards was the originator of 
Haynes' Arabian Balsam, and his fame was national. 

1837. George Xourse killed by a runaway horse. Feb. 23d. 

Ilolbrook's Organ Manufactory established at 
East Medway. 

Montgomery Lodge, Masons, meet at Hathorn's 
tavern until 1845. 



36 

1837. Eleazer Daniels, represent ibive. 

Rev. Jacob Ide given degree of D. D. by Brown 
University. 

Rev. Sewell Harding, pastor of First Church. 

Clark Partridge starts boot manufacturing in Med- 
way. 

1838. Several cases of small- pox in town. 

Luther Metcalf, Jr., representative. 

Village church and society organized at Med way, 
June 15. 

Rev. David Sanford installed pastor over Village 
Church. 

Village church built and dedicated. 

Fourth post office established in town at Rockville. 
Deacon Timothy Walker, postmaster. 

Turnpike made a town highway. 

Joseph L. Richardson elected a state senator. 

Stone mill built on Chicken Brook by Cephas 
Thayer of West Medway, all the material coming from 
one huge boulder. 

1838. Famous "horse-shed" fight at West Medway. Hot 
while it lasted. 

Major Luther Metcalf died, aged 82. 

1839. Two votes cast for William Lloyd Garrison for Gov- 
ernor and Wendell Phillips for Lieutenant-Governor. 
First anti-slavery votes recorded in town. 

James B. Wilson's mill burned at Medway and re- 
built the same year. 

Governor Briggs appoints Hon. Warren Lovering a 
member of the State Board of Bank Commissioners, and 
he served for six years 

1840. Hon. Warren Lovering visits President elect William 
Henry Harrison at his home at North Bend, Ohio. 

A. M. B. Fuller starts the watch- making business 
in West Medway and conducts the business for over 
50 years. 







^ 



ivtt r •# 'iA^s^ 



m 





n 



f^J^ picturespue jpot vvitfj 
-pellucu) 5~trearr[ ever flowing 
^■■Silently oriwarS torninalej 

Wlbfl OLD OCEAN. 



**: *■ 



38 

1840. M. M. Fisher and David Daniels start the manufacture 
of straw bonnets in town. 

Population 2043. 

Sixteen Liberty party votes in town. 

Jan. 7. Deacon Asa Daniels, a Revolutionary sol- 
dier, died, aged eighty-seven. 

Great "Tippecanoe and Tyler too" parade in town 
with log cabins and hard cider galore. 

One hundred ninety-seven men in town liable for 
military duty. 

Comfort Walker died, aged 75. 

1841. Med way License Law Association formed. 

First printed town report gotten out by Orion Ma- 
son and Joseph Adams, selectmen. 

Willard Daniels, representative. 

National fast on the death of President Harrison, 
May 14. 

1842. Joel Hunt, representative. 

Voted to hold town meetings alternately between 
the three villages. 

First town auditor chosen. 

"Dry Bridge" across the turnpike abolished at a 
cost of $25. 

Fifty- six Liberty party votes in town. 

1843. Sanford J. Horton, first Med way graduate from Trini- 
ty College. 

First town meeting held at the Village. 

Year of the Milleiite excitement. Several West 
Medway believers prepared their robes and waited for 
ascension. 

Horace Richardson, representative. 

1844. Bridge over the river at Medway pronounced unsafe 
for travel. 

Cotton mill at West Medway burned. 
Luther Metcalf elected state senator. 
Hiram C. Daniels, first Medway graduate from 
Dartmouth. 



39 

1845. Rev. Abner Mason, pastor of the Baptist church. 

Samuel Force and Anson White last tythingmen 
chosen by the town. 

Rising Sun lodge, I. < > 0. F., organized at Med- 
way with nine charter members. 

Serg. Oliver Richardson, a Revolutionary soldier, 
died, aged 91 years. 

1846. Potash Corner Road straightened. 

Straw factory built at Medway by Amos Fisher, 
upper story used as a hall and occupied by the Odd 
Fellows. 

Stone arch bridge over river built at .Medway ; it 
falls down when partially completed and was rebuilt 
the following year. 

"Nigger Board" of selectmen elected, all Liberty 
Party men. 

Collins I Fathom and A. S. Harding build a bowl- 
ing alley at Medway. 

May 9. Rev. Charles D. Torrey died in State 
Prison at Maryland; imprisoned for aiding slaves to es- 
cape. 

Laban Adams starts the present Adams House in 
Boston. 

1847. Nathan Jones of Fast Medway, County Commissioner 
for seven years. 

Amos Fisher builds Fisher's block and double 
dwelling house at Medway. 

Jedediah Phillips, a Revolutionary soldier, dies, 
aged 92. 

First dog licenses issued. 

1848. Horatio Mason, representative. Also '49. 

Goose Island road laid out. 

John Quincy Adams, congressman from this dis- 
trict, died. 

1849. Rev. Edward C. Messenger, pastor of the Baptist church. 

New schoolhouse built at East Medway, now the 
Adams school in Millis. 



-10 

1849. Ladies' Benevolent society organized by the women 
of the Village church. 

Two Revolutionary soldiers died this year : Lieu- 
tenant Jonathan Adams, aged 97, and Isaac Hixon, 
aged 87. 

Fair held for two nights in Parish House at West 
Medway and the proceeds devoted to improving the 
Common. 

School street laid out in Medway. 

Town votes a high school to be kept twelve weeks 
in each village. 

Fourth meeting house built at East Medway and 
the old building removed to Rockville. 

Population 2778. 

Village church presented with a tower clock by 
Pardon D. Tiffany of bt. Louis. 

First mass said in Medway by Father Callaher at 
home of Walter Dewire, John street, Medway. 

Campbell Bros, build paper mill at West Medway. 

1851. Rev. John O. Means, pastor of First Church. 

Present High School building built by District No. 
7 at a cost of &7362.75. 

Clark Partridge, representative. 

1852. Two envelope distributors appointed by selectmen. 
(Query: for what purpose?) 

Henry E. Walling, C. E., of Boston, publishes a 
map of Medway. 

Present Baptist meeting house built at West Med- 
way. 

Joel Hunt, a prominent manufacturer of West 
Medway, died, aged 70. 

Montgomery Lodge of Masons moves to Milford. 

Town votes $900.00 for purchase of two fire en- 
gines. 

1853. Oliver Optic publishes his first book. 

July 14. Thomas Harding died, aged 93. The 
last Revolutionary soldier in Medway. 

Medway Branch railroad, the first to enter town, 



41 

opened this year. Kan from North Wrentham to Med 
way. Terminal and depot on Walker street, Medway. 

Fisher's [nsurance Agency started. 

Dr. Artemus Brown, delegate to the Constitution- 
al Convention in Boston. 

1854. West Medway Loan Fund Association formed; the 
forerunner of the modern Co-operative Bank. 

Albert Tnwing, representative. 
Town formally protests against the passage of the 
Kansas and Nebraska Bill by Congress. 

1855. Town votes to enforce prohibition law, and not less 
than 12, nor more than oO policemen provided for that 
purpose. 

Tisdale C. White, representative. Also 1856. 

Expense of Fire Department for the year, $315.31. 

Legislature grants charter for the so-called Pette 
route of railroad to run from Needham to Woonsocket, 
K. I. 

Old yellow mill, built by Captain Felt, burned at 
Medway. 

Old Rapid Engine Co. organized at West Medway. 
First tire engine owned by the town. 

lsf>i>. Value of taxable property in town, *l, 268, 888. 
Rev. Jacob Roberts, pastor of First Church. 

1857. Methodist church organized at West Medway; Rev. 
Mr. Jackson first pastor. 

State divided into representative districts. Med- 
way in 12th Norfolk. 

William S. Boyd, representative. 

Town votes to pay engine men 25c an hour for 
actual service at fires. 

William G. Harding, first Medway graduate from 
Williams College. 

Union Base Ball Club organized, May 3rd, with 
thirty members. The officers were Abram Harding, 
president, Milton A. Adams, vice-president, ('. E. L. B 
Whitney, secretary and treasurer. 



42 

1858. William II. Temple, representative. 

Union Base Ball Club wins championship of the 
state from Massapoag Club of Sharon. 

1859. Union Ball Club plays a two days' game of 211 innings 
at Ashland, with the Excelsior Club of Upton on July 
28th and 29th, winning the championship and a purse 
of $100 00 by a score of 100 to 78. 

Present Methodist church built on Cottage stieet. 

Milton M. Fisher elected State Senator; also re- 
elected in 1860. 

Another famous game of Base Ball played at 
Worcester, Oct. 11th and Pith, between the Unions of 
Med way and the Excelsiors of Upton. 

James Coombs commenced business in West Med- 
way and has continued in the same store for 54 years. 

Net profit to town from the liquor agency, $3.17 
for the year. 

1860. Monument to Rev. David Sanford dedicated Oct. 2nd 
at Evergreen Cemetery, West Med way; Rev. Jacob Ide 
orator. 

Present Grammar school building erected on High 
street; cost $6,963.61. 

Population 3195. 

Town's net loss by liquor agency, $8.27 for the 
year. 

On April 16th, Tsaac Foster drops dead in town 
meeting, which is immediately adjourned. 

First campaign flag ever floated in town at Med- 
way, in honor of Lincoln and Hamlin. 

Lincoln electors recei/e 329 votes to 104 for Dem- 
ocratic candidates . 

Dean Libnry incorporated and receives a gilt 
from Dr. Oliver Dean. 

William N. Cary, Sr., representative. Also '61. 

1861. Nov. 13. First train enters Medway on the Air Line 
Railroad. (Now N. Y., N. II. & II ) Terminal at 
Broad street for some months. 



43 

1861. Milton II. Sanford presents Village church with organ, 

April 29. First town meeting in support of war. 
Committee of nine chosen to encourage enlistments. 

May 11. Fifty -four Medway volunteers enlist in 
Co K, Second Mass. Regiment. 

May 11. Two thousand people cheer the Medway 
company who left foi Camp Andrew on the old branch 
railroad. 

Military expenses, *744.87. 
l v >i_\ Five thousand two hundred seventy-seven dollars 
thirty-seven cents paid by town during the year to 
families of volunteers. 

Jan. 1 to June 1. Thirty additional enlistments. 

Aug. !». George II. Ide and Herman S. Sparrow 
killed at Cedar Mountains. 

Nov. 24. Alexander M. dishing dies in hospital 
at Sharpsburg, \Id. 

Coin goes out of circulation, postage stamps and 
scrip used instead. 

Frederick Swarman loses leg by a cannon ball at 
Antietam, Sept. 17. 

Three soldiers killed at Antietam on Sept. 17th : 
Charles E. Cary, Benjamin F. Remmick] and John S. 
Treen. 

Robert T. Morse dies in the service. 

Town votes. .Jan. 3rd, to keep a complete record of 
all the volunteers in the Civil War. This antedates 
action by the state by over a year. 

Military expense, $11,120.15. 

Catholic Society organized at Medway by Rev. 
Patrick Cuddihy of Milford. Previous to this time all 
Medway Catholics worshipped at Milford. 

Rev. Asa Ilixon died, aged t» - J. 
18G3. Hon. M. M. Fisher elected County Commissioner. 
Serves for nine years. 

Air Line Railroad completed to Woonsocket. 

Harding and Bassett commence manufacture of 
straw < r oods. 



44 

1863. Charles H. Cumrnings died in hospital at Washing- 
ton, D. C, Jan. 19. 

First draft ordered and held July 15th. 

Med way Catholic Society purchases the old school 
house on Village street. 

Newell Barber died in the service at Baton Rouge, 
La., Aug. 14th. 

David F. Covill, a soldier, died at Bayou G^ntilly, 
La., April 22nd. 

William Daniels, representative. Also '64. 

John Nolan died in the service at New Orleans, 
La., Aug. 7th. 

May 3. Albert C. Houghton killed at Chancellors- 
ville. 

May 3. Peter Mawn loses a leg at Battle of 
Chancellorsville. 
1*04. On June 11, thirty-two members of the 2nd Mass. 
Regiment return to Med way, after three years' hard 
service, and are welcomed at the Air Line Depot by a 
large assemblage with a band of music. 

David A. Clark taken prisoner at Opequan, Sept. 
19 ; confined in Libby and Belle Isle. 

George A. Fuller died in Andersonville Prison in 
August. 

George M. Hardy killed at the Battle of the Wil- 
derness. 

Edwin A. Grant died, Sept 11th, at Alexandria, Va. 

Henry R. Dain died at Berryville, Va , hospital. 

George H. Allen died, Aug. 11th, in Andersonville 
Prison. 

Med way Branch R. R. discontinued after 11 years' 
service. 

Henry E. Mason, postmaster at Med way. 

George W. Mahr, a prisoner at Andersonville until 
April, 1865. 

James McGowan died of yellow fever at Beaufort, 
S. C. 

George V. Partridge died of wounds at Beaufort, 
S. C. 







i& — 




SECOND MEETING HOUSE, 1749 TO 1816. 

rHiRD, L816 ro 1850. 

FOURTH, PRESEN I Mil. 1. 1- CHURCH. 



46 

186 4. Albert W. Barton captured by the Confederates at 
Battle of Cold Harbor and confined at Anderson ville 
for ten months. 

Lieut. William C. Hawes killed at Alexandria, Va., 
May 29 th. 

Local mill men pay $1.37 per pound for raw cotton 
on Nov. 22nd. 

Dr. Jacob Ide celebrated the 50th anniversary of 
his installation as pastor over the Second Church. 

1865. Patrick Gallagher died at camp near Richmond, Va., 
May 24th. 

Charles G. Kingsbury died May 29th at hospital 
in Washington, D. C. 

Oakland Cemetery dedicated at Medway. 

Medway furnished 377 men and spent $35,000 as a 
town in prosecuting the War of the Rebellion. 

Fifty-two soldiers died away from home out of a 
population of 3600. 

Mrs. Mary Darling died, at 103 years of age, and 
was the first person buried in Oakland Cemetery. 

Gilbert McCallum, a prisoner at Andersonville, for 
a year, died at Washington after being exchanged. 

Expense of Fire Department for the year, $181.39. 

St. Clement's P. E. church organized at East Med- 
way. Rev. B. F. Cooley, Rector. 

Dr. and Mrs. Jacob Ide celebrate their golden wed- 
ding, April 14. 

Albeit D. Richardson publishes "Field, Dungeon 
and Escape." 

Joseph A. Clifford detailed to guard the body of 
Abraham Lincoln before the funeral services. 

Orion Mason died, aged 66. 

1866. George P. Metcalf builds large straw factory in Med- 
way. 

Anson Daniels, representative. 

1867. Streets in town officially named and entered on town 
records. 

Leander S. Daniels, representative. 



48 

1867. Big freshet on Charles River; upper dam at white 
mill swept away and flat inundated. 

1868. Med way Cornet Band organized by George H. Barton, 
who was first leader. 

Town Clerk's office burned and some records and 
the town library destroyed. Many valuable papers 
and the original books of records saved in the safe. 

Clark Partridge, state senator. 

Alfred Daniels, a prominent manufacturer, died, 
aged 65 years. 

Town votes at its April meeting to erect a soldiers' 
monument. (But never did so.) 

A written transcript made of the first book of town 
records. 

On May 1 8th the first record of a No License vote 
in Med way. 

1869. Fifty-one new buildings in town this year. 

Dr. James H. Sargent, a veteran surgeon of the 
Regular Army, under Scott, died at the age of 88. 

James H. Ellis, representative. 

Three divisions of Sons of Temperance and two 
lodges of Good Templars in town with a membership 
of over three hundred. 

Two lodges of Knights of St. Crispin in town. 

Wilder D wight Post, G. A. R., organized ; David 
A. Partridge, first Commander. 

Albert D. Richardson assassinated by Daniel Mc- 
Farland in office of New York Tribune. 

Hapid Engine Company's house built on Peach 
street. Cost met by town and subscriptions. 

Awl and needle shop built at West Med way. 

John W. Hodges and brother start the canning 
industry in Med way. 

1870. Catholic society detached from Milford and annexed to 
llolliston; Rev. Father Quinlan pastor. 

Ninety-three births, 32 marriages, 52 deaths. 
Eight new streets laid out on old Hunt farm in 
West Med way, on old training field, by W. L. C. Hunt. 



49 

1870. Fifty four buildings enlarged and erected tins year. 

Town owns one cannon this year. (Query:— 
Where did it go?) 

Two new fire engines bought : The "Tonent" and 
the "Rapid." Cost $-J7S0.00. 

Rev. Seth J. Axtell, pastor of Baptist church. 

The old "Convent" straw shop burned. 

Charles River Lodge of Masons organized at West 
Med way. 

Vital statistics printed for the first time in the 
town records. 

1871. Rev. E. 0. Jameson, pastor of First church. 

Med way Savings Bank incorporated : M. M. Fish- 
er, President; Orion A. Mason, Treasurer. 

Thomas Campbell died, aged 62. 

Milton II. and Edward S. Sanford give $7500 and 
citizens subscribe §8815 towards building a public hall. 




RESIDENCE OF REV. DAVID SANFORD. 



50 



, 







SANFORD HALL, MEDWAY. 



1871. Dr. Oliver Dean died in Franklin, leaving a bequest 
of 25 shares of B. & A. R. R. stock to Dean Library. 

Three members of School Committee die in office 
this year : John S. Walker, Marcellus Woodward and 
Lyman Adams, Jr. 

David A. Partridge elected moderator of the annual 
town meeting for the first time. He afterward served 
over 60 times in this capacity. 

1872. Rev Edwin A. Adams sent as missionary to Austria. 

Henry A. Bullard publishes the "Medway Journal 
at West Medway." 

Rev. Alexis W. Ide, representative. 

'•Big Shop" built at West Medway for Fogg, 
Houghton and Coolidge. 

Thirteen boot shops in operation in town. 

From 1852 to 1872, one hundred and fifteen build- 
ings erected on the Joel Hunt farm in West Medway. 



51 

1872. Small- pox in town, brought by a tramp. Six drat lis. 
Cost to t )\vn, $1854.05. 

Rev. Rufus K. Harlow of Middleboro installed as 
pastor of Village church. Rev. David Sanford, Pastor 
Emeritus. 

Sanford Ball dedicated Dec. 31st. Dr. Theodore 
Fisher delivered historical address. 
W:>. March meeting held in Sanford Hall for the Mist time. 

"Milford Journal" publishes the first Medway 
edition. 

Oct. 30th. First "Old Folks Concert" held in .Med- 
way. 

In July, 5040 cases of boots and shoes shipped 
from West Medway station. 

Interior of Village Church remodelled. 

Rev. A. W. Segar, pastor of Second Church 

Franklin Journal purchases the Medway Journal 
and publ ishes a Medway edition. 

Medway Lodge, No. 163, I. O. O. F., organized. 

Division No. 7, A. O. II., organized at Medway. 

1874. Willard Daniels, pioneer boot manufacturer, died ; aged 
70. 

Rev. Alexis W. Ide, chaplain of State Senate. 

Charles B. Whitney, prominent boot manufacturer, 
died. 

Town opposes the taking of Charles River by the 
City of Boston as a source of water supply. 

Christ Protestant Episcopal Church built at Med- 
way. 

1875. Sunday Newspapers first sold in .Medway. 

Deacon Paul Daniel died at Easl Medway, aged 86. 

Captain Warren Doliff, an old sea captain and Cal- 
ifornia miner, starts gold excitement by prospecting on 
Pauls Hill, Medway. 

Home National Bank of Milford starts operations 
and draws many depositors from Medway. 

Rev. David Sanford dies, Oct. 17, aged 74. 

Forty-one new buildings this year. 



52 




HOME OF HISTORICAL SOCIETY 



1875. Whitney boot factory on Broad street burned. 

William Parsons killed by a runaway horse, Feb. 
13th. 

Population 4242. High water mark. 

Col. George H. Holbrook died, aged 7 7. 

Artemus Richardson died, aged 95 years and 6 
months. 

Ninetieth birthday of Dr. Jacob Ide celebrated at 
Second Church, March 29th. 

Dean Walker died, aged 82. 

High school building enlarged. 

1876. St. Joseph's Church started and partially completed. 

David A. Partridge, representative. 

Partridge Hall built in East Medway. 

East Medway Dramatic Club nourished about this 
time. "Solon Shingle," "Uncle Tom's Cabin," "The 
Octoroon" and other high class dramas given by them. 

Catholic Total Abstinence Society formed. 

Norfolk Tannery burned at Medway. Loss 
#20,000. 

Warren Lovering, Esq., aged 80, a former state 
senator and member of the governor's council, died in 
East Medway almshouse. 



53 

is7(>. Rev. James M. Bell, pastor of Second Church. 

St. Joseph's Cemetery consecrated on Oakland 
street, Medway. 

Eddie B. Robinson drowned in Populatic Pond, 

Dec. 31. 

On Jan. 3rd, Patrick Costello plowed over an acre 
of land on Bent street, Medway. 

Mrs. Edna Holbrook Sanford died, aged 90. 

Olney Corey died, aged 70. 

Quinobequin Hotel partially burned July 5th. 

Calvin Follansbee burned to death in his barn at 
East Medway. 

Captain George Paul died, aged 70. 

May 31. Firemen's muster at East Medway. 

1877. Rockville Chapel built and dedicated. N. B. The 
services made a sticking impression on those present, 
as the varnish on the seats was extremely new. 
First service held in St. Joseph's Church. 
Norfolk Lodge, Knights of Honor, instituted May 

31st. 

Eureka Council, No. 5, Royal Arcanum, organized 

July 11. 

Kai>id Engine Co. disbands and keeps up an inde- 
pendent organization for one year. 

1878. Elijah B. Daniels, representative. 

Rev. P. K. Harlow spends live month in Europe. 

Rev. John E. Burr, pastor of Baptist Church. 

George W. Ray died, aged 71. 

Zenas Brigham died, aged 92. 

"Aunt Thusa Ellis" died, aged 95. 

Seventeen persons die this year, seventy years of 
age and upwards. 

Druggists' licenses granted this year in town for 
the first time. 

1879. Milk wholesales for 15c an 8 (it. can. 

Rev. Caleb Kimball, the blind preacher, died, aged 
81. He was blind for 50 years. 



54 

1879. Hon. Luther Metcalf died, aged 91. 

Eaton & Wilson's upper mill burned. Bernard 
Hart, first assistant engineer of Rapid Engine Company, 
killed at mill tire. 

Captain David Daniels married for the second time 
at 80 years of age. 

Otis Metcalf died, aged 94. 

78 births, 27 marriages, 87 deaths.. 

Dr. Alexander LeB. Monroe died, aged 71. 

Canners of vegetables hit hard by "swell heads." 
One packer lost over 200,000 cans of corn. 

Town Auditor Frederick L. Fisher has accident 
that causes amputation of leg. 

1880. George E. Partridge of East Medway murdered at 
North Bellingham. 

A Garfield and Arthur Torchlight Battalion organ- 
ized in each of the three villages. 

Hon. Joseph Lovell Richardson died at East Med- 
way, aged 93. 

Water mains laid from Eaton & Wilson's mills 
along Village street to grounds of the Village Church, 
for fire protection, by generosity of Milton H. Sanford. 

Rev. Jacob Ide, D. D., died, aged 94. 

Mrs. Mary Emmons Ide died, aged 89. 

Marcus Richardson, of Bangor, Me., spends his 
100th birthday with his brother, Deacon Silas Richard- 
son, of East Medway, aged 90, 

Joseph Warren Thompson, representative. 

Soldiers' and Sailors' Veteran Associa'.ion succeeds 
Wilder Dwight post, G. A. R., at West Medway. 

1881. First graduation from Medway High School. 

Abraham Charak becomes the first Hebrew resi 
dent of Medway, living on Ellis street, having lied from 
persecution in Russia. 

Sept. 8th. Famous Yellow Day. 

70th birthday of Hon. M. M. Fisher celebrated in 
Sanford Hall. 

Old White mill demolished. 



55 

1881. Sixty thousand dollars subscribed to build Sanfi.nl 
.Mills on site of Old White Mill. 

April 4th. Town votes to compile and publish a 
History of Medway 

First service ever held in Christ Church on Christ- 
mas Day. 

Marcus Richardson of Bangor, Maine, a native of 
East Medway, and a member of Montgomery Lodge of 
Masons, in 1803, died, aged 100 years. 

Memorial services for President Garfield held in 
Sanford Hall, Sept 26. 

Miss Mary A. Jenckes, first Medway graduate from 
Wellesley College. 

Eighteen persons over HO years of age died this 
year ; thirty persons over 70. 

Mrs. Olive Adams died; aged 98 years, 7 months. 

1882. School Committee censured by town in respect to 
High School matters. 

Two selectmen die in office within six months ; 
William Everett, Oct. 31st, 1882, and George 15. Thrash- 
er, March 5th, 1883. 

Benjamin F. Butler carries Medway for Governor 
by 49 votes. 

Rev. Henry Ward Beeeher lectures in Sanford 
Hall. 

Curfew rung at 9 o'clock at Sanford Mills from 
this date. 

Medway Lodge No. 42, A. O. U. W., organized. 

Sanford Mills completed and leased to Samuel 
Hodgson of "Wales, Mass. 

Ahram S. Harding, a prominent straw manufac- 
turer, dies, aged 64. 

Cephas Thayer died April Kith, aged 93. 

James II. Sargent Post, ii. A. R., organized. 

Deputy Sheriff Valentine Coombs died, aged 81. 

1883. Sewell J. Clark, representative. 

Worst railroad accident ever known in town. In 
July, the first morning train leaves track below "Xew 



56 

City" and rolls down embankment, and fourteen per- 
sons are more or less injured. 

East Med way Grange, No. 112, P. of FL, organized. 

Milton II. Sanford died, aged 70. He was Med- 
way's most generous benefactor. 

Edward Eaton, manufacturer, died, aged GO. 

Town received a gift of $800 from an anonymous 
donor, whose identity bas never been revealed. It has 
popularly been supposed to be conscience money. 

1884. Charles P. Spencer, first Med way graduate from Tafts 
College. 

Miss Katherine S. Jameson, first Medway graduate 
from Smith College. 

E. S. Fuller and 234 other voters petition the Gen- 
eral Court for the separation of East Medway and its 
incorporation into a separate township. 

Registrars of voters appointed in town for the first 
time. 

Four liquor licenses granted. 

Deacon Anson Daniels, a portrait painter of more 
than local reputation, died, aged 71. 

Rockville Mills burn. 

M. M. Fisher and 256 others petition the General 
Court that if the town of Medway be divided at all, it 
be made into three distinct townships. 

Publication of the West Medway Gazette commenced 
by G. M. Billings in connection with the Gazette at 
Milford. Elmer E. Ilolbrook was the local manager up 
to the time of his last illness in 1905, and almost from 
the beginning the Medway Village column has been 
and still is in charge of Orion T. Mason. 

1885. Most of the Old Grant, or East Medway, set apart 
by the legislature and incorporated into the town of 
Millis. Its territory extending as far west as a line 
drawn on Farm street, and named "Millis" in honor of 
Lansing Millis, a wealthy resident. 

Division of town property gives Millis the alms- 
house, the engine house, and three school houses, the 



57 

new town p.iying 84500 towards the town indebted- 
ness. 

Ten persons over 80 die this year. 

At first town meeting in Millis, 65 no license votes; 
none for license. 

Henry L. .Millis, representative to General Court 
from .Millis. 

Miles Gormley, the oldest man that ever lived in 
Medway, died, at the age of 105 years. 

St. Joseph's Society made into a separate parish. 
Rev. Matthew T. Boylan, first pastor. 

Louis LaCroix, first town clerk of Millis, a position 
he still adorns. 

Population of Medway, 2777 ; Millis, 683. 

On Feb. 20th, a grand celebration of the incorpora- 
tion of the town of Millis held in the old First Church. 

Captain Clark Partridge died, aged 82. 

Joseph L Richardson died, aged 89. 

Lansing Millis died April 6th, aged 61. 

Depot boot factory built at Medway Village, by 
citizens, for Seavey Bros. 

.Mrs. Pamelia Thompson died, aged 89. 

Smallpox scare in town. 

First board of Millis selectmen: Lansing Millis, 
John S. Folsom, Willard P. Clark, 
issi;. New stone railway station built at Millis. with town 
offices in upper story, the gift of the heirs of Lansing 
Millis. 

First Cattle Show and Fair of Fast Medway 
(.range. 

Law and Order League formed in town. 

Messrs. Ilirsh & Park of New York City buy the 
Hardin-- Straw Factory, and commence the manufac- 
ture of straw and felt hats. 

Medway Town History published; Rev. F. O. 
Jameson, Editor. 

Third Congregational Church organized at West 
Medway by ex-communicated and disaffected members 
of the Second Church. 



ss 




MILLIS MEMORIAL DEPOT 



1886. The Austin Farm on Village street bought for an 
almshouse. 

Freshet on Charles River, Feb. 11th; boats used on 
streets on the "Flats." 

1887. Wellington L. C. Hunt died, aged 72. A most active 
and stirring son of old Med way ; from 1869 to 1874 he 
built, directly or indirectly, over 100 buildings in West 
Med way. 

Rev. James Conery, the first Med way boy ordained 
to the priesthood. 

1888. Charles W. Seavey, representative. 

Semi-centennial anniversary of the Village Church, 
held Sept. 7th. 

Chase, Merritt & Co. remove their boot business 
from Milford to the Seavey shop at Medway. 

Rev. Thomas B. Lowney, pastor of St. Joseph's 
Catholic Church. 

Mrs. Sally D. Ware celebrates her 100th birthday 
at her home on Village street. 

Prohibition party vote 50 ; high water mark in 
Medway. 

Town Treasurer Orion A. Mason died April 6th, 
aged 63 years and 1 day. 



59 

1888. Granville McCallom died, aged 82. At his request 
he was given a Masonic funeral with a band of music. 

Old Hoi brook bell foundry, the oldest in the state, 
torn down at Millis. 

In August, 17o3 cases of boots and shoes were 
shipped from the Medway station. 

Dr. E. A. Daniels and family go to Europe and 
spend two years in Vienna. 

On Christmas Day thermometer registers 61 above. 
1**9. No ice cut in town this winter until March. 

First Church in Millis celebrates its 175th birth- 
day. 

Joseph Bullard died, aged 72. 

Addison T. Thayer died, aged 75. 

William Wall, ice drowned in Charles River. 

George Newell died, aged S| '>. 

Mrs. Sally 1). Ware died, aged 1U0 years, li months. 

Fifteen persons died in town this year, over 70 
years of age. 

Mechanics Hall Block in West Medway burned. 

St. Joseph's Church clears over $4000 on a two 
weeks' fair. 

St. Joseph's Cemetery consecrated by Archbishop 
Williams. 

Town of Millis elects Park Commissioner and ap- 
propriates $10,000 for the Steel Edge Works Park. 

Steel Edge Manufacturing Company removes its 
business from Chelsea to .Millis and erects large build- 
ings of stone at Fast Millis. 

Deacon Silas Kichardson died in Millis, aged 96 
years, 11 months, 12 days. 

East Millis built up by Henry L. Millis and others, 
and many new streets i lid out. 
1890. Ninety Medway citizens visit Congers, N. Y, on an 
excursion gotten up by John McGinnis. 

Moses C. Adams of Millis, representative to Gen- 
eral ( !ourt. 

Thorne Bros, of Vermont City, S. D.,moveto Millis. 



60 

1890. Town of Millis starts Water Works in a small way. 

Med way votes not to consider a system of Water 
Works. 

Jan. 29th. Timothy Mawn, aged 7, drowned in 
Charles River. 

New bells from the McShane Foundry, Baltimore, 
hung in the towers of Village and St. Joseph's 
Churches. 

Rev. John C. Smith died in West Med way, aged 63. 

P. A. Woodward, J. S. Pearson and E. S. Thomp- 
son visit Europe. 

Rufus G. Fairbanks, Esq., appointed Trial Justice. 

Deacon John Smith, a pioneer boot manufacturer 
of West Medway, died, aged 81. 

Public reception tendered John McGinnis, the 
founder of Congers, N. Y., in Sanford Hall. 

Mrs. Tamar W. Mason, the oldest member of the 
Village Church, died, aged 93. 

First flag raised over schoolhouse. 

Tower built on St. Joseph's Church. 

Daniel S. Woodman, representative. 

1891. First concrete sidewalks laid in town. 

School District formed with Millis and rlolliston, 
and Superintendent Fred C. Tenney employed. 

Second and Third Congregational Churches unite 
at West Medway. 

Bald-headed American Eagle caught in a muskrat 
trap at Rockville. 

Three selectmen elected this year from West Med- 
way. 

J. W. Thompson & Co. remove their Shoe Manu- 
facturing business from Medway to a modern, one-story 
factory built for them in East Millis. 

Famous Pratt tar and feather case this year. 

Firemen's pay raised from $7.00 to $15.00 yearly. 

"Quinobequin" Hotel changed to "The Gladstone." 

S. G. Clark's box mills burned. 

Free Public Library started at West Medway. 



61 

1891. Horatio Kingsbury farm at River End sold this year ; 
the first deed given sine* 17M. Fur 112 years, it had 
been in the possession of one family. 

1892. Principal K.I). Daniels, of the Medway High School 
spends the summer in Europe. 

Medway Water Company chartered by tin- state: 
E. V. Mitchell, president; F. L. Fisher, clerk. 

Millis Savings Bank incorporated: Henry L. Millis, 
president; T. Dean, treasurer. 

The Millis News published weekly. 

Richard J. Reardon loses an arm in a railroad acci- 
dent. 

Timothy Ide and -wife, of West Medway, celebrate 
their golden wedding. 

Australian Ballot system used in Medway for the 
the first time. 

Free Public Library opened in West Medway, 
June l^th, with a nucleus of 567 bonks, through the 
efforts of Elmer E. Holbro >k. 

New school building built at Medway for the lower 
grades. 

Steam heat and ventilating stacks put in both 
Medway school buildings. 

1893. Mr. and Mrs. Asa Williams celebrate their 57th mar- 
riage anniversary. 

Clarke P. Harding, representative. Also '94. 

St. Anthony court, M. C. O. F., organized at Med- 
way. 

Dog Tax money given to Free Public Library. 
Previous to this given to schools. 

James A. Snow appointed postmaster at Medway. 

Medway Savings Bank removes to its present 
quarters in Sanford Hall Block. 

Aug. 17. Safes in Medway Savings Hank blown 
by burg ars. No loss. 

1894. Famous hot day, 107 in the shade. 

Famous Noyes Harding campaign for selectman. 
Henry L. Millis leaves Millis. 



62 

1894. VV. \V. Clough starts the Norfolk County Poultry 
Show at Med way. 

First annual ball of Hirsh & Park's employes in 
San ford Hall. 

William Page, a local bridge builder of note, dies, 
aged 95. 

Muster of fire engine companies at Medway. 

1896. Asa Robinson drowns at Lilly Pond. 

St. Brendan's Church in North Bellingham built 
by efforts of Rev. Thomas B. Lowney. 

John W. Hodges, while piotecting his property, 
shoots Richard Howley, a burglar, July (3th. 

Rising Sun Lodge, I. O. O. F., celebrates its 50th 
anniversary. 

Moses Richardson of Millis died, aged 76. 

Millis Savings Bank closes up its affairs and ceases 
business. 

First Medway patient operated on for appendicitis. 

Cole, Senior & Co. operate Sanford Mills. 

John L. Capiuii drowned in Charles River, P'eb. 6. 

Soldiers' Monument erected and dedicated in Ever- 
green cemetery by James H. Sargent Post, G. A. R. 

Rev. T. B. Lowney is transferred to Marlboro from 
St. Joseph's Church and is given a purse of #500 by his 
parishioners at a reception. 

Lev. Daniel J. Kelliher, Ph. D , of Brighton Semi- 
nary, Brighton, Pastor of St. Joseph's Church. 

Alvin Wight of West Medway, died, aged 86. He 
owned the first piano in town. 

Clarke P. Harding, state senator. 

Medway post office made a presidential office. 

James H. Sargent Post, G. A. R , has 7 2 members. 
High water mark. Daniel W. Newell is commander. 

Thirty-two births, 28 marriages, 58 deaths. 

Louis A. Gary, Deputy United States Consul at 
Capetown, South Africa. 

Feb. 17. Coldest day since the weather bureau 
started; 19 degrees below zero at Medway. 



63 

1 sl»7. Milfoid and Midway stage route abolished by the Tost 
Office Department. 

Clarke I'. Harding, state senator. Daniel s. Wood- 
man, representative. 

Mrs. Sarah Pbipps Metcalf died, aged 93. 

Medway Club organized : Daniel W . Senior, presi- 
dent. 

Village Church and society celebrate the 25th an- 
niversary of Rev. Iv. K. Harlow's pastorate. 

Leander s. Daniels died, aged 0:5. 

Montgomery Lodge, Masons, celebrates its If' th 
anniversary at tin' old Doctor Miller homestead at River 
End, in the same room in which it was organized. 

First electric car from Milford entered town, Sep- 
tember '21. 

Mrs. Martha W. Kimball, a daughter of a Kevolu- 
tionaiy soldier, made a member of Newton Chapter, D. 
A. R., Nov. 12, and given a gold spoon. 

First cucumber hot house in town built on the 
Dullard Farm at West Medway. 

Dean Library made a free public library. 

First electric car from Milford enters Medway Yil- 
lage, Nov. 25th. 

1898. Mr. and Mrs. Emerson X. Bullard celebrate their gol- 
den wedding. 

Mrs. Charlotte Pond of West Medway, an original 
daughter of a Revolutionary soldier, died, aged 84. 

Deacon Wales Kimball died, aged 89. 

In February the heaviest snowstorm since 1867. 

Joseph Maynard killed by railroad at Millis. 

Twelve Medway men sign for enlistment in Co. M 
for service in the Spanish-American war. 

On July 1st, the N. Y , X. H. & EL R. R. takes 
possession of the old X. F. railroad. 

Yarnuin Warren died, aged 82. 

Rev. Guy W. Miner of Topeka, Kansas, appointed 
Rector of Christ Church. 

The old Metcalf homestead at Medway, built in 



G4 

1792, passes from possession of the Metcalf family and 
is turned into a boarding house. 

Lillie O'Hara drowned in Charles River. 
Elnathan S. Winslow died, aged 96. 
Electric lights first installed in Medway streets. 
Mrs. Martha M Kimball died, aged 95. 
Rev. Patrick Cuddihy died, aged 89, at Milford. 
Henry E. Mason, for more that 29 years postmas- 
ter of Medway, died, aged 65. 

Peter J. Foley ordained priest. 
New almshouse built on Lovering street. 
1899. Hotel Gladstone burned to the ground, March 17th. 
Peter J. Dowd, a fireman, killed while on duty at the 
fire. 

Medway Savings Bank broken into March 21st. 
Safes blown with nitio-glycerine. 

March 22 E. Cutler Wilson and expert injured by 
second explosion, while opening safes in bank. 

Quinobequin Chapter, Eastern Star, organized at 
West Medway. 

Famous McGinniss liquor license contest started, 
that kept litigation in operation for two years. 
Mrs. Amelia Thayer died, aged 88. 
Jewish Synagogue built at North Medway. 
William A. Jenckes died, aged 83. 
Mr. and Mrs. Sewell Smith celebrate 60th anniver- 
sary of their marriage. 

Rev. R. K. Harlow resigns pastorate of VilUge 
Church on account of ill health, and spends the winter 
in California. 

Croswell Hall built adjoining Christ Church, Med- 
way. Its corner stone laid by the Grand Lodge, Ma- 
sons, of Massachusetts, April 25th. 
1900. First Arbor day observance by schools. 

Hon. Clarke P. Harding appointed Postmaster at 
Medway. 

Electric cars enter Medway from Dedham. 
New Medway Hotel built. 



65 

1900. Rev. R. W. Drawbridge installed pastor of the Vil- 
lage Church. 

First Hebrew wedding in town. 
Deacon Edmund Shumway died, aged 75. 
Oct. 4th, the Second Church celebrates its 150th an- 
niversary. 

West Medway Grange organized Oct. 18th. 

1901. Medway clergymen break up a cocking main held on a 
Sunday morning on Eliis street. 

James A. Snow killed by a B. & A. train in Boston. 

Rev. Alexis W. Ide died, aged 75. 

John McGinnis died, aged 42. 

George W. Bollard, representative. 

Asa M. 15. Fuller died, aged 88. 

Legislature authorizes town to refund license 
money to Lawrence McGinnis, Jr., which is ratified by 
town and ends the contest. 

Sergeant Walter Gilmore of Co. 1), 46th Infantry, 
killed in the Philippines and buried in Evergreen Cem- 
etery. 

.Mrs. Edna J. LeEavor died, aged SO. 

Medway Historical Society organized Dec. 22; 
Rev. A. II. Wheelock, president; R. G. Fairbanks, sec- 
retary. 

1902. Abel Houghton and wife, of West Medway, celebrate 
their 62d wedding anniversary. 

Arthur S. Mann spends the year in Australia as an 
expert electrical engineer. 

Rev. George R. Hewitt installed pastor of the 
ond Church. 

Thomas Harding, aged 78, killed by train in Mil- 
lis. 

Kdmond Finnessey died, aged 7 1. 

Elbridge G. Ware died, aged 82. 

First section of the state road put in on Village 
street. 

Julia Malloy died, at Framingham hospital, of 
burns. 



66 

1902. Hon. Milton M. Fisher publishes his autobiography. 

1903. Med way Historical Society starts a movement for a 
Dr Ide monument, for which object Rev. 11. K. Harlow 
visits every church in the Mendon Conference. 

Deacon Addison A. Smith died, aged 72. 

Town Clerk George E. Pond died, aged 62. 

Mrs. Sarah P. Smith died, aged 92. 

Rural free delivery of mail route established from 
Med way post office. 

Mills of Ray & Wilson on Charles River bought by 
the Union Wadding Co. of Pawtucket. 

Hon. Milton M. Fisher dies, April 19th, aged 92. 

Firt-t cottage built on shores of Populatic Pond. 

A. M. Smith boot shop ceases operations after 71 
years of life. 

Medway lodge, I. O. O. F., presents Lady Minstrels 
in San ford Hall. 

Putnam R. Clark of Millis, son of a Revolutionary 
soldier, dies, aged 72. 

First automobile owned in town by Archibald 
Park. 

Historical Society fits up the old Parish House in 
West Medway for its occupancy. 

Mr. and Mrs. John W. Hodges celebrate golden 
wedding, Nov. 15. 

Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence McGinnis celebrate their 
golden wedding anniversary, Nov. 19th. 

Mr. and Mrs. Henry F. Cooper celebrate their gol- 
den wedding anniversary on Nov. 20th. 

Deacon and Mrs. Horatio Jones of Rockville cele- 
brate their golden wedding on Thanksgiving Day. 

Medway Historical Society presents Montgomery 
lodge, Masons, with its original ballot box, 100 years 
old. 

Historical Society places markers on the site of the 
George Fairbanks palisade at Boggestowe Pond and at 
the old burying ground at the Farms. 

First Old Home Day celebration held at West 
Medway, July 28th. 



68 

1903. Baptist Church celebrates its 75th anniversary, Nov. 
14 tli and 15th. 

Mrs. Sarah P. Smith dies, aged 92. 
Famous coal famine ; highest price charged in 
Med way, $14 per ton. 

Charles S. Mann loses a limb in railroad accident. 

1904. S. A. R. markers placed on the graves of Revolutiona- 
ry soldiers in the old cemeteries at Millis and West 
Med way. 

Evan F. Richardson of Millis, representative. 

Dedham electric cars tied up for ten weeks by 
snow and ice. 

The Harlow prizes for best-kept lawns offered for 
the first time at Medway. 

Mrs. Abbie K. Miller dies, aged 71. 

Mrs. Sylvia P. Richardson dies at Millis, aged 88. 

Old Home Day celebrated at West Medway, Aug. 
3rd, on which occasion the Dr. Ide monument in Ever- 
green cemetery was dedicated. 

Edmund I. Sanford, the blind furniture dealer, dies, 
aged 60. 

Daniel S. Woodman appointed postmaster at West 
Medway. 

Earthquake felt in town. 

Madden & Curtis boot factory burned at West 
Medway; the last bootshop in town. 

Old Clarke Walker house burned on the Flat. 

Gordon Skinner of Roxbury drowned in Populatic 
Pond. 

Elizabeth P. Wight died, aged 94. 

Ebenezer Dearborn died, aged 91. 

1905. Vital records of the town from 1713 to 1850 published 
by the New England Historical Genealogical Society. 

Orion T. Mason, representative. 

Mrs. Mary A. Scott, now living at Grantville, the 
youngest daughter of a Revolutionary soldier in the 
United States. Her age, 53 years. 

Rev. Rufus K. Harlow died in Barrington, R. I., 



69 

aged 71. Funeral services were held in the Village 
Church, Rev. Webster Woodbury officiating. 

1906. Elmer E. Holbrook died May 17 after a brave fight 
with tuberculosis, extending over several years. For 
more than 20 years he was the West Midway repre- 
sentative of the Gazette, in which connection as well as 
in many other ways he was an active worker in every 
movement looking to the promotion of the best inter- 
ests of the town. It was largely through his efforts 
that the street railway service between this town and 
Milford was established. To him belongs also the 
credit for the establishment of the free public library at 
West Med way. 

Herbert X. Hixon tours Europe. 

Swedish club-house built at Popolatic Pond. 

West Roxbury extension built on New Haven 
Road, and for the first time, Medway passengers go to 
Boston over one line. 

Third Old Home Day celebration held at West 
Medway, August 6th. 

Archibald Park retires from finn of Hirsh & Park 
and A. M. (iuinzburg becomes resident manager of the 
new firm. 

Evan E. Richardson of Millis, County Commission- 
er for three year term. 

Emerson X. Bullard dies, aged 86. 

Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin Treen celebrate their gold- 
en wedding on Thanksgiving Day. 

Captain and Mrs. David A. Partridge celebrate 
their golden wedding. 

Mr. and Mrs. Justin W. Stickney celebrate their 
golden wedding, Nov. 9th. 

Eighteen cases of Typhoid fever, resulting in two 
deaths in Medway. 

Rev. Daniel .1. Kelliher transferred to Lowell. 

Rev. William J. Dwyer, pastor of St. Joseph's 
church. 

1907. Rufus G. Fairbanks died, Jan. 17th, aged 18. 



70 

1907. Mrs. Havilah Clark died, aged 85. 

Quinobequin Grange, No 267, P. of II., organized 
at Medway, February 11th. 

West Medway post office advanced from fourth to 
third class. 

George II. Thayer of Bellinghain killed by fall 
from electric car at Medway. 

Captain David A. Partridge died, aged 74. For 
more than forty years he had served the town in many 
capacities. 

Last district school in town closed and all children 
transported to centre schools. 

John Clancy of Grantville drowned in Charles 
River. 

John Clancy of Medway, commander of James II. 
Sargent Post, G. A. R., died, aged 74. 

Committee appointed by town to investigate a sys- 
tem of water works, and the final agitation for town 
water was started. 

Nicholas Lanagan died, aged 90. 

Louis Alexander Cary died at Kimberly, South 
Africa. 

Albert W. Barton, a veteran and an ex-prisoner of 
war at Anderson ville, died, aged 06. 

August Wilbelmson drowned in Popolatic Pond. 

Daniel Whooley died, aged 85. 

Rev. Loring B. Chase, acting pastor of Village 
Church. 

Fred G. Kingston frozen to death at West Medway. 

1908. Mr. and Mrs. Archibald Park tour Europe. 

Samuel Hodgson died, aged 65. 

Mrs. Joseph W. Thompson died, aged 77. 

Old Barber Cloth Mill, more than 100 years old 
and the oldest mill on Charles River, demolished at 
Medway. 

Medway post office greatly enlarged and fitted up 
with modern furnishings. 

First Hebrew graduate from high school. 



71 

1908. Mrs. Caroline T. Daniels of Boston gives 1500.00 
to perpetuate the award of Harlow lawn prizes in Med- 
way. 

Sewell Smith died, aged 92. 

Isaac C. Greenwood died, aged 86; a veteian of 
the Civil war. 

Legislature grants another charter for water works 
to the town 

East Med way Grange, P. of IT., celebrates its 25th 
birthday. 

Dr. Charles W. Emerson dies at Millis, aged 70. 

High School senior class inaugurates the custom of 
visiting Washington, D. C , at Easter vacation. 

Rapid Engine Company house burned at noon, 
April 27th. The machine saved. 

1909. Henry F. Cooper, Sr., the veteran florist, died at Med- 
way, aged 77. 

First town meeting called Jan. 8th for bonding 
town for water works. Project defeated. 

Eli Whitney Reynolds died, aged 84. 

Med way Village voters petition Legislature for a 
separate water district. 

Evan F. Richardson of Millis re-elected County 
Commissioner for another term of three years. 

The Temperance Hall Association disbands after 
20 years' organization and gives 81200 to Oakland 
Cemetery for improvements. 

Mr. and Mrs. Sylvester E. Howard celebrate their 
golden wedding. 

Miss Harriet Norton, a Medway girl, goes through 
the Turkish massacre at Adana. 

George H. Hixon died, aged 71. 

Bear trap used on the hanks of Popolatic Pond, in 
1735, given to Medway Historical Society. 

Class of 1884, Medway High School, celebrates its 
25th anniversary with a dinner at Hotel Vendome, 
Boston. 

Conductor Oeorge Story, one of the oldest on this 
line of railroad, died after 44 years of service. 



1909. Willard P. Clark, one of the founders of the town 
of Millis, and many times an official of Mechvay, died, 
aged 79. 

Evan F. Richardson of Millis, Lecturer of State 
Grange, P. of II. 

Class initiation of M. C. O. F. in Sanford Hall, 
Medway, over 300 members of the order attending. 

Frederick C. Clark, representative. 

Rev. Ray E. Butterfield, acting pastor of Village 
Church. 

1910. First Barn I)an3e held in town ; given by Quinobequin 
Grange. 

Mrs. Olive Shumway Partridge died, aged 95. 

Mrs. Eliza Ilixon died, aged 91. 

Twenty- fifth anniversary of the incorporation of 
Millis celebrated in Grange Hall. 

Mis. Mary Pearson died, aged 84. 

Town now spends $3800 yearly for lighting its 
streets. 

Jedediah P. Plummer died, aged 91. 

Ninth town meeting held in May on the water- 
works project. 

Old Smith boot factory burned at West Medway. 

Oliver Optic Commandery, Golden Cross, instituted 
at Medway with 40 charter members. 

Miss Emily Masskrist of South Boston drowned in 
Popolatic Pond. 

Nicholas P. Noss, after serving the public 51 years 
in one locality, closes his barber shop in Sanford Hall 
Block. 

On Sept. 13tb, the town votes to bond itself for 
$95,000.00 to install water works. 

Jewish synagogue dedicated on Bent street, Millis. 

Mr. and Mrs. Owen Mawn celebrate their gdden 
wedding, Oct. lGth. 

Source of supply for water works and pumping 
station located at Popolatic street, Medway. 

Fabyan Woolen Company purchase Sanford mills. 



73 

1910. Second Church restores its auditorium to the Colo- 
nial style. 

Chaplain David Sanford fund established for 
scholarships in Medway High School. 

Rev. William J. Dwyer is transferred to (Glouces- 
ter. 

Rev. Martin J. Lee, formerly of Franklin, pastor of 
St. Joseph's. 

1911. Joseph Warren Thompson, a veteran boot manufactur- 
er, died, aged S4. 

James Willis drowned in river near Kissing Bridge. 
James H. Sargent Post, G. A. R., has '29 members. 
Quinobequin Grange presents town with two drink- 
ing fountains. 

Mrs. Esther M. Metcalf dies, aged 92. 
Town Clerk Henry ('. Austin dies, aged 74. 
John Martin, a soldier stationed at Fort Greble, R. 
I., drowned in Sound. 

James M. Grant drowned in Charles River. 
June 24. Sanford Hall burned to the ground with 
all its contents, including Dean Library with 10,000 
volumes. 

Town water first used in August. 
John Henry, aged 76, a member of Co. F, 2d Mass . 
dies August 29. 

W. L. Palmer builds coal elevator and pockets. 
Oct. 3d. Medway Woman's Club organized. 
Music Hall block partially burned at West Med- 
way. 

Squire Robinson found dead near Kingsbury's 
Pond. 

Charles H. Deans, a prominent citizen of West 
Medway, for many years trial justice, dies D,-,'. L2th, 
aged 79. 

Stone Arch bridge at Medway demolished and a 
new one of concrete built by County of Norfolk, Med- 
way and Franklin. 

Three engine companies of 120 men disbanded and 
two hose companies of 30 men formed. 



74 

1911. American Felt Co. closes its mills at Rockville. 

Aunt Sally Smith dies at West Med way, aged 93. 

1912. Jan. 13th, coldest day ever on record in town, 22 below 
zero. 

Dr. James H G.ile dies, aged 74. 

Archibald Park, a former prominent straw manu- 
facturer, dies in New York, aged 62. 

Sanford Hall completed in September at a cost of 
$20,000. 

Dedication ball held in Sanford Hall by Grange, 
Sept. 13th. 

Steeple of Millis church damaged by lightning. 

Louis La Croix of Millis elected a representative to 
the General Court. 

John A. Hutchins died in Millis, aged 84. 

Postmaster Daniel S. Woodman died at West Med- 
way, aged 70. 

Committee of five appointed to arrange for Bi-Cen- 
tennial celebration in 1913. 

June 26. Timothy J. Sullivan drowned at Rock- 
ville. 

The first deed passed on land belonging to the 
Joseph Daniel farm in Millis since 1665. 

Alpha Hat Co. starts manufacturing ladies' hats at 
Medway. 

Joseph Litchfield died, aged 96. 

Timothy Ide died, aged 97. 

Rev. Preston R. Crowell of Petersham, pastor of 
Village church. 

Rev. Richard J. Quinlan of Ilolliston died. He 
was pastor of St. Joseph's church, Medway, from 1870 
to 1885. 

Archie Pollard of the U. S. Marine Corps killed at 
Barronca Hill, Nicaragua. 

Roosevelt carries Medway in November election. 

Postmaster Jerry B. Daniels dies at Millis, aged 50. 
1913. Boy Scouts organized. 



76 

1913. Historical Society hold Old Folks' concert and Cafe 
Chantant in aid of Bi-Centennial fund. 

Mellin's Food Co. purchases the Steel Edge Works, 
Millis, Jan. 7th. 

Paul Daniels of Millis wins $2000.00, first prize in 
Boston Globe Booklovers' contest. 

Feb. 3. Frederick B. T. Miller died, aged 92. 

Feb. 7. Mrs. Julia A. Benner died, aged 96. 

Over 300 takers of town water. 

Feb. 7. Town appropriates 11,000.00 for Bi-Cen- 
tennial. 

Feb. 10. Mr. and Mrs. Dennis W. Riordan cele- 
brate their golden wedding. 

James H. Sargent Post, G. A. R., has a member- 
ship of 21. 

Walter M. Cabot purchases the old Parish House, 
home of the Historical society, and restores it to its 
Colonial condition. 

Town votes to hold its Bi-Centennial celebration 
on July 4th, 5th, and 6th, a Historical Pageant to be 
one of the principal features, and the bank of the river 
at Medway the spot selected. 

May 15th, this handbook published. 



RIVERS AND PONDS. 



Ch \i:i,ks River. — Indian name Qninobeqnin, meaning "Wind- 
ing River"; named in honor of Charles I. ; forms the 
southern boundary of Medway and the southerly and 
easterly boundary of Millis. 

Popolatk Pond. — Opposite the dividing line of Medway and 
Millis. and is, in fact, a part of the river. In olden 
times it was a favorite spawning place for salt water 
fish, before dams were built on the river. 

Kingsbcjry's Pond. — A smaller spring-fed pond about a quar- 
ter of a mile south of Popolatic. It has no inlet nor 
outlet and was named for the family living on and own- 
ing the banks. 

Winthrop Pond. — Now wholly in Holliston; was until is-j'J 
half in Medway's territory. Its Indian name was 
"Winnekenning," or "the smile of the Great Spirit.*' 
Its English name was given in honor of a son of Gov- 
ernor Winthrop, who was granted land upon its bor- 
ders. 

s<>i in End Pond. — At the extreme northeasterly part of Mil- 
lis. It is made from the waters of Hoggestowe brook, 
and on its banks the first settlement in Medway was 
made. 

Lily Pond.— A small pond lying between Oakland and St. Jo- 
seph's cemeteries. Famous for the great number of 
aquatic plants growing in and about it. 

Chicken Brook.— Drains a considerable portion of the north- 
ern part of the town and empties into Charles River at 
West .Medway. It was named on account of an early 
settler who lost a crate of chickens by drowning while 
fording it. 

B jest-owe Brook.— Rises in East Holliston and runs for 



miles through the north pai t of Millis, emptying into 

South End Pond, and thence into Charles River. 
Black Fly Brook. — Rises in Dry Bridge Hill, and after trav- 
ersing Black Swamp, joins Boggestowe Brook in the 

swamp in the Brick Yard region. 
Hoppin River. — Rises in the northwest part of the town, 

forming at its mouth the boundary line between Med- 

way and Bellingham. 
Long Walk Brook — Is on the P'ranklin side of the river; so 

named from the fact that settlers in the "now" "North 

Franklin" had a considerable distance to walk to attend 

meetings in Wrentham. 
Mine Brook. — Another Franklin Brook that empties into 

Charles River west of West Medway. 
Hog Pond. — A small mud hole in the fork of Village and Main 

streets, famous a century ago as the scene of the "Hog 

Pond Ghost." 
Dingle Hole. — A large pool of black, stagnant water near 

Oak Grove Farm, Millis. A century ago it was believed 

that it had no bottom. 



BRIDGES. 

Great Bridge. — The first built on the river between Medfield 

and the west, in 1(!70; burned by the Indians in l<'>7f>, 
rebuilt in 1686. For many years the only means of 
travel from Dedbam westward. Used by the old Bos- 
ton and Hartford Middle Post road. Afterwards called 
Brastow's Bridge from a family of that name living- 
near it. 

Dwight's Bridge. — Built before 1700 to accommodate Timo- 
thy Dwight, who owned hay land on this side of the 
river. 

Turnpike Bridge. — On Main street. Built by the Turnpike 
Company in 1806; replaced by Norfolk County in 1909 
by one of cement. 

Lovell's Bridge. — Connecting Jade walk in Medfield with 
Forest street in Millis. 

Baltimore Bridge — Bridge at Rockville, so named from its 
proximity to Baltimore Mills. 

Rockville Bridge. — Connecting Old "Rock Bottom" with 
North Wrentham, now Norfolk. 

Rivek End Bridge. — At the old fording place on the river, at 
the Samuel Partridge place. 

Walkeb Street Bridge. — On the flat at Medway, near the 
old Comfort Walker mill site. 

Franklin Bridge.— First built of wood, early in the history 
of the town; several times replaced; stone bridge built 
in 1847; one of concrete in 1911. 

Anen Bridge. — At Shaw street, West Medway. 

North Franklin Bridge. -With its twin arches between the 
Shumway neighborhood and the settlement at North 
Franklin. 



80 

Six Small Bridges over Chicken Bkook. —Two of stone on 

Village and Main streets, and the remainder of wood. 
Old North Bridge. — Over Boggestowe Brook at the Neck in 

Millis. 
Grist Mill Bridge. — Over Boggestowe Brook at the site of 

the first grist mill at tbe old North End. 
Morse's Foot Bridge. — At Medway, the smallest and one of 

the most picturesque on Charles River. 



OLD GRANT LOCALITIES. 



The Old Grant. — In 1649, granted to Dedham all the lands, 
now .Mill is, as far as School street in Medway. 

George Fairbank's Palisadjbs. — Or Garrison House, built 
before 1675 by the men of the Farms. Its site is on 
the Rot man Farm in Millis, but the last vestige of it 
has been removed. 

Long Plain. — Extending from the present meeting house of 
the First Church in Millis, eastward. 

Bare Hill. — Afterward called Meeting House Hill, the site of 
the first churches of the parish and the first burying 
ground; is directly across from the LaCroix place in 
Millis. 

The Neck. — That portion of the ancient town lying north of 
Boggestowe Brook. 

North End. — That part of Millis lying nearest to Sherborn. 

Great [sland, Bbidge Island, Poor Duck Island. — Wooded 
hills growing out of the swamp near Long Plain. 

Popple Sqi v.sh Su amp. — A great marsh extending from the 
Great Bridge to the Joseph Daniel place in Millis. 

Black Swamp. — A huge swamp in the middle of the ancient 
town, covering hundreds of acres. 

Medfield Meadows. — Low grassy meadows, covering many 
acres and lying on both sides of the river from Med- 
field to Millis. 

Brick Yards. — Situated in Millis, settled on by John Clark, 
and from early days ojcupied by brick kilns. 

Tin-: Bent. — Or bend of the river; that part of the town em- 
bracing Hockville. 

Rock Bottom — The ancient name for Hockville. 
Baltimore Mills. — The last mill site on the river before 
South Natick, situated in Hockville. 



82 

Deanville. — The land annexed from North Wrentham in 
1792, and named in honor of Dean Walker, who built 
up a settlement on its territory. 

"The Old Brick." — The oldest school building in town, 
erected in East Med way in 1823. 

The Old Bext School House. — Now used as a dwelling 
house, the second oldest school house in town, at the 
head of Green street, in Rockville. 

Kixg Philip's Trees. — A clump of Tupelo trees on the 
Moses Adams place in Millis. The scene of the Indian 
barbecue in Feb., -1676. 

Indian Orchard. — A group of natural fruit apple trees on the 
west bank of Popolatic Pond. 

Ebon Spring. — At the extreme end of Popolatic Pond. 

Indian Stepping Stoxes. — Just above the Big Rock at Med- 
way. At low water they are plainly visible and mark 
the crossing place on the old Indian trail from Winne- 
kenning to Popolatic. 

The Big Rock. — A boulder that has been used by eight gen- 
erations of boys in their bathing place at Med way. 

Pawsett Hill — Near the King Philip trees, Millis. 

Granny Darling Lot. — Now an orchard near the turnpike 
in Med way. Heie lived for many years in the woods, 
Mrs. Mary Darling, who died in 1865, aged 103. 

Candlewood Island.— A high spot in Black Swamp, on the 
Edward Clark farm, covered with pitch pine trees. 
Oakland street was in old times called "Candlewood 
Island Road" and to this day is called the "Island 
Road." 

The Flat. — The long, low, level part of Med way, running 

eastward from Village Hill. 
Peck's Plain. — That part of the Elat eastward from the old 

Seth Harding place, where in winter, the mercury goes 

lower and the winds blow harder than anywhere else in 

town. 



83 

Factory Village.— The name given Medway Village about 
1812, when manufacturing started and a boom was in- 
augurated. 

Village Hill — U the extreme west of the old grant on the 
old Hartford Post road in .Medway. 

New City. — A settlement in Medway built up mi Oakland 
street. 

Cockerell Hill — The entrance to New City, at the junction 
of Oakland and Knowlton streets. 

Paul's Hill. — Now owned by Monroe Morse. On it stands 
the oldest dwelling in town, built in 1688. 

The Old Canal — It was built early in the century, at Fac- 
tory Village and made Goose Island. Filled up in 1909. 

Second Grist Mill. — On Boggestowe, that of Joseph Daniel, 
2d, near the "Priest" Hiram Daniel's place, Millis. 

Robert Hinsdell's Mill. — Built in 1662 on Boggestowe in 
the north end. Used as a mill site until 1912. 



NEW GRANT LOCALITIES. 



The New Grant.— Made to Medfield by Mm General Court 
in I (359, a tract in addition to former lands, two miles 
east and west, and four miles north and south, taking 
in the whole of the village of West Medway, the great- 
er part of Medway and a considerable part of Metcalf 
Station, with some territory in Hollistou. 

Mucksquit. — The region bordering on Winthrop Pond, ex- 
tending down to the George Lawrence neighborhood. 
Sometimes called "Squitville" or "Squic." 

Kabbit Hill— That part of West Medway on which stands 
the meeting house of the Second Church. 

Sodom— Sometimes called Plainville ; that portion of West 
Medway below Chicken Brook, near the Baptist 
Church. In and about 1830, Universalist services were 
held here ; hence the name given by the more Orthodox 
brethren of the town. 

Drybridue Hill. — And school house on Main street, so called 
for the under- ground passage made to accommodate 
cattle under the turnpike. 

Shumway's Grove. — A group of noble oaks on the old Shum- 
way Farm, used for many years for celebrations and 
picnics. 

Woodland Park. —A tract of pine woods across the river 
from West Medway, once a famous picnic ground. 

Holy Cross. — The neighborhood lying adjacent to the junc- 
tion of Summer and Milford streets. 

Squire Levi Adams Tavern - . — \t the corner of Summer and 
Main streets ; a noted stand in old stage days. 

Old Tavern House. — Just east of the Second meeting house 
in West Medway ; another old-time tavern. 

Old Stone Mill. — On Chicken Brook, Main street, West 



85 

Med way; built out of ;i huge boulder that was imbedded 

in a field back of the L. S. Daniels' hoot factory. 
Oli> Whiting Mill. — The oldest Mill site on Chicken Brook, 
above Mechanics street, West Medway. 

First Carpet Mill in the United States. -<>n Chicken 
Brook, near Winthrop street, West Med way. 

Old Ci it.kk House. — Winthrop street. The oldest dwelling 
in the New Grant Now owned by A L. Smith Here 
Dr. and Mrs. Ide commenced housekeeping, and meet 
ings of the Second Chinch were held here frequently 
on cold Sundays. 

Great West Woods.— The forest originally extending from 
Summer street to Milford and Braggville. 

Summer Street. -Originally the boundary between Holliston 
and Medway, until 1829, when the present boundary 
was established. 

Vine Lane, Mechanics Street, Oak Street.— Originally one 
road. One of the earliest laid out in the New Grant. 

Lovers' Lank —A short street in Medway, leading from Vil- 
lage street, that has borne this name for a century. 

New Chicago. — A settlement on Lovers* Line'. 

r.i nki:k Hill— A small wooded eminence across the river 
from the old Whiting mill. 

Coffee Lot —The tract in Black Swamp on which in Revo- 
lutionary times, Ishmiel Coffee, of Indian and Negro 
origin, lived with his wife. Hannah. They raised 16 
children in a small one story house. 

The Bk. Rocks. — Huge boulders left by pre-historic glaciers 
in the neighborhood of the old Bullard saw mills on 
Ellis street. 

Gonka. — Indian name for land near river in vicinity of Big 
Rock. 

Old Parish Holsk - -Built lsl4, its timbers from the old 
first meeting house in the Second Precinct; now head- 
quarters of Medway Historical Society. 



86 

Mechanics Hall. — Built in 1852 out of timbers of the first 
meeting house of the Baptist Society. For many years 
the headquarters of the Knights of St. Crispin. 

Hastings Spring. — A famous spring near the site of the first 
meeting house in the Second Precinct. Its waters are 
as clear now as 200 years ago. 

Baptizing Place, Chicken Brook — Just above the stone 
mill, us^d by the Baptist society for over 40 years for 
the immersion of converts. 

Torrev House. — Built for Mrs. Mary Ide Torrey by the Ab- 
olition Society after the death of her husband in a 
Southern prison, 1846. Stands just west of the Dr. 
Ide place on Main street. 

Hixon Corner. — Corner of Holliston and Main streets. 

Old Training Field. — Used by militia tor musters for many 
years, on the old Hunt farm, now the Methodist neigh- 
borhood on Cottage street. 

Old Brick School. — Now standing on Fisber street near the 
Bellingham line. A picturesque relic of olden times. 

Site of the First School in New Grant. — Where the 
barn on the Marston estate stands. 

Site of First Meeting House in New Grant. — Near 
Frederick W. Clark's on Main street. 

Old Adams Grist Mill. — On J. G. Sanderson's place on 
Chicken Brook. 

Old District No. 4 Sciioolhouse.— On Slocumb place near 
Second Congregational Church; built 1815. 

Old North School. — Its site South East of Jewish Synagogue 
on corner of Winthrop and Partridge streets. In 1790 
over 100 pupils attended the winter session. 

Bullard Saw Mills.— In woods off Ellis street; conducted 
for years by Ethan and Aner Bullard with a good 
water power where now only a trickling brook runs in 
the winter and spring. 



88 

Old Plympton Place. — On Village street near the subway- 
One of the oldest improved farms in the New Grant; 
house burned a dozen years ago. 

Henry Garnsey Place. — Older than the town — the well is 
still in existence In rear of Phiueas McNutt's building 
on Village and High streets; the old oak that stood for 
more than 200 years taken down very recently. 

Happy Hollow — The neighborhood beyond Cutler row on 
High street. 

Adams Neighborhood. — That part of Muoksquit, where, from 
Crane's Corner to the residence of Mr. Charles A. Wil- 
son, every house belonged to an Adams over 100 years 
ago. 

Potash Road. — Running from Milford street near Hotel 
Dewey to Bear Hill, Milford, named from old potash 
works situated there in olden times. 

Soapstone Mines. — On Meyer Gotz' farm at Holliston line, 
used years ago by local parties. 

Site of House of Rev. David Thurston and Rev. David 
Sanford. — At residence of Henry E. Towne on Main 
street, West Medway. 



BURYING PLACES. 



L660. Most ancient burying place; in South Sherborn, near 
Death's Bridge. Here all the early settlers in the 
Farms rest from their toil and privations. George Fair- 
banks, Henry and Hopestill Leyland, John Death, Ben- 
jamin Ballard and other Puritan pioneers. 

1714. First burial place on Bare Hill, near the site of the 
first meeting house. In its enclosure all the fathers of 
the town sleep, and it is the final resting place of 
seventy-four soldiers of the American Revolution. 

1750. Second Precinct Burying Ground in the rear of the 
site of the First meeting house of the precinct. For 
seventy-five years the only place of burial in the New 
Grant. It contains the ashes of thirty-eight Revolu- 
tionary soldiers. 

ls-jli. Evergreen Cemetery laid out on the east of the Second 
Preeinct burying ground in West Med way, and now in- 
corporated with it. 

1855. The old Churchyard cemetery incorporated and addi- 
tional land acquired, joining the Old Bare Hill burying 
ground in Fast Medway. 

1865. Oakland Cemetery laid out at Medway by Milton M. 
Fisher. Xow owned by the Village Church and Socie- 
ty. 

1876. St. Joseph's Cemetery on Oakland street, consecrated 
for burial purposes, and owned by St. Joseph's Catholic 
Society of Medway. 



FRENCH AND INDIAN WARS. 



This town furnished troops as follows : — 







No. Men 


Capt. Nathaniel Whiting impressed 


1745 


65 


Lieut. Nathaniel Clark " 


1754 


2 


Men that served at Crown Fort 




36 


Under Captain Edward Clark 


1754 


22 


Again at Crown Point 


1756 


12 


Impressed in 


1756 


23 


Impressed September 4, 


1756 


7 


" April 3, 


1758 


40 


" May 2, 


1758 


32 


" May 23, 


1758 


22 


Under Lord Louden, March 22, 


1759 


21 


Pay Roll of 1759 




59 



Names of Soldiers, 



Capt. Jonathan Adams, 
Nathan Adams, 
Phineas Adams, 
Eleazer Adams, 
Isaac Adams, 
Thomas Adams, 
Stephen Adams, 
Moses Adams, 
Oliver Adams, 
George Baiber, 
Joseph Barber, 
Joseph Barber, Jr., 
James Barber, 



Jonathan Adams, Jr., 
Dea. Elisha Adams, 
Jesse Adams, 
John Anderson, 
John Alden, 
Seth Allen, 
Nathaniel Allen, 
Ebenezer Allen, 
John Andey, 
Joseph Baxter, 
James Boyden, 
Ebenezer Blake, 
John Boden, 




SECOND CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH— 1814. 



92 



Daniel Bullen, 
Jabez Bullen, 
Nathan Bullard, 
John Bullard, 
Malachi Ballard, 
Jesse Carpenter, 
Benjamin Cochs, 
Amos Clark, 
Henry Clark, 
John Clark, 
David Clarke, 
Edward Clark, 
James Clark, 
Theophilus Clark, 
Nathaniel Clark, 
Nathaniel Cutler, 
Elisha Cutler, 
Samuel Cutler, 
Joseph Curtis, 
Henry Daniels, 
Timothy Daniels, 
Jeremiah Daniels, Jr., 
David Daniels, 
Ezra Daniels, 
John Daniels, 
Jonathan Ellice, 
Henery Ellice, 
Seth Ellise, 
William Ellis, 
Abner Ellis, 
Asa Ellis, 
Jonas Fairbanks, 
Joseph Fairbanks, 
George Fairb inks, 
Timothy Force, 
Job Harding, 
Joshua Harding, 
Joseph Harding, 



Rev. Nathan Bucknam, 
Henery Bullard, 
Elisha Bullard, 
Hoseiah Bullard, 
Timo. Bullard, 
John Carpenter, 
William Clemens, 
Asa Clark, 
Timothy Clark, 
Nathaniel Clark, Jr., 
Simeon Clark, 
Left. Teino. Clark, 
Elijah Clark, 
David Clark, Jr , 
Jonah Clark, 
Simon Cutler, 
Elisha Cuttlear, 
Simeon Cuttlear, 
Henry Daniell, Jr., 
Moses Daniels, 
Samuel Daniels, 
Asa Daniels, 
Nathan Daniels, 
Joseph Daniels, 
William Daniels, 
Timothy Ellice, 
Elisha Ellice, 
John Ellis, 
Samuel Ellis, 
Benjamin Ellis, 
Ebenezer Ellis, 
Dea. Samuel Fisher, 
Joseph Follet, 
William Grant, 
Jonathan Hall, 
Nathan Harding, 
Theodore Harding, 
Ichaburd Harding, 



94 



Isaac Harding, 
John Harding, 
Abraham Harding, 
Samuel Hawes, 
John Harris, 
Joseph Harris, 
Samuel Hill, 
Jonathan Hill, 
Timothy Hill, 
Simon Hill, 
John Hucker, 
Samuel Jones, 
Joseph Lovel, 
Thomas Metcalf, 
Timo. Metcalf, 
John Melles, 
Ezekiel Mors, 
Henery Morse, 
Gershom Morse, 
Eli Partridge, 
Caleb Partridge, 
Moses Partridge, 
Joshuay Partridge, 
Timothy Partridge, 
.lames Partridge, 
James Pennyman, 
Ensine Plympton, 
Daniel Richardson, 
Samuel Richardson, 
Nathan Richardson, 
Moses Richardson, 
William Rixford, 
Samuel Rockwood, 
Timothy Rockvvood, 
Josiah Rock wood, 
Joseph Rock wood, 
Sambo "Freeman," 
Moses Thompson, 



John Harding, Jr., 
Seth Harding, 
Tho. Harding, 
Ichabod Hawes, 
Erastus Harris, 
Samuel Hayward, 
Samuel Hill, 
Jonathan Hill, Jr., 
Ebenezer Hill, 
Seth Hixon, 
Thomas Jons, 
Jethro Jones, 
Hop Lovel, 
Samuel Metcalf, 
Lieut. Metcalf, 
John Mills, 
Uriah Morse, 
Temo. Morse, 
Henry Morse, Jr., 
Sergt. Seth Partridge, 
Malechi Partridge, 
Nathaniel Partridge, 
Silas Partridge, 
Silem Partridge, 
Jacob Parker, 
Joseph Perry, 
Job Plympton, 
William Richardson, 
Ira Richardson, 
David Richardson, 
Asa Richardson, 
Benjamin Rock wood, 
Hezekiah Rojkvvood, 
Asa Rockwood, 
Moses Rockwood, 
Seth Rockwood, 
Abel Smith, 
Jonathan Underwood, 



95 



John Varney, 

Capt.NathanielWhiting,Sr., 
David Wheten, 
Joshua Wheten, 
Jonathan Wheeler, 
Joseph Whitney, 
Eleazer Wight, 
James Wight. 



Nathan Whiting, 
Benjamin Whiting, 
Daniel Wheeton, 
Joseph Wheten, 
Joshuay Whitney, 
Lem'y Write, 
William Williams, 



THE WAR OF 1812. 



Medway furnished hut few soldiers in this war, and there 
is no official record from which to give their names. The 
following citizens of the town served for longer or shorter 
periods : — 

Simeon Ellis, Cephas Thayer, 

Capt. Jeremy Daniels, Joshua Fairhanks, 

Leonard Fairhanks, Silas Fairhanks, 

Charles Howard. 



REVOLUTIONARY WAR.— 1775- 1 783. 



Mechvay, like most of the towns in this Commonwealth, 
had, previous to the outbreak of hostilities with England, 
companies of trained minute men, armed and drilled. Two 
companies from oar town answered the alarm of April 19, 
1775, marching to Roxbnry, where they served for some time. 
The company from the Old Grant, now Millis, under Captain 
Joshua Partridge, had thirty-seven men. The company from 
the New Grant, now Med way, under Lieutenant Moses Adams, 
had thirty-six men. Medway men served in all the opera- 
tions in New England, aud in many of those in New York 
and New Jersey. Granted that many of them saw service 
only of short duration, yet the fact remains, that Massachu- 
setts was the first colony to rebel against the English crown, 
and that the conduct of her yeomanry made the independence 
of our country a possibility. Medway's record in the contest 
is one for which no son need blush. 



Medway's Revolutionary Soldiers* 



Capt. Jonathan Adams, 
Abner Adams, 
Joel Adams, 
Thomas Adams, 
Philemon Adams, 
Obidiah Adams, 
Phineas Adams, 
Jonathan Adams, Jun'r, 
Jonathan Adams, 3d, 
Timothy Adams, 
John Allen, 
Elijah Allen, 



Lieut. Moses Adams, 
Eli.ib Adams, 
Titus Adams, 
Eliakim Adams, 
Lieut. Oliver Adams, 
Reuben Adams, 
Elisha Adams, 
Daniel Adams, 
Fisher Adams, 
George Alerson, 
Seth Allen, 
Jonathan Alien, 



97 



Abijrth Allen, 
John Albee, 
John Anderson, 
George Berber, 
Joseph Barber, 
Asa Blake. 
Jacob Boyden, 
Alexander Bragg, 
Prince Bruoster, 
.Jonas Brick, 
Rev. Nathan Bucknam, 
Sergt. Samual Bullen, 
Jonathan Bullen, 
Corp. Hezikiah Billiard, 
Lieut. Nathan Bullard, 
Josiah Bullard, 
Elijah Bullard, 
Timothy Bullard, 
John Billiard, 
Joseph Bullard, 
Henry Bush, 
Lieut. Stephen Clark, 
Serg. Theodore Clark, 
Joseph Clark. 
James Clark, 
David Clark, 
Timothy Clark, 
Billing Clap. 
Samuel Cleaveland, 
Hezekiah Comacho, 
John Combs, 
Elias Craiy, 
Timothy Cheaver, 
Roger Ciain, 
Simon Cutler, 
Luther Cutler, 
Loreing Cushing, 
Benj. Davidson, 



Dwight Allen, 
John Alden, 
John Baker, 
James Bai ber, 
Jacob Bliss, 
Sergt. James Boyden, 
Isaac Boyden, 
Amos Broad, 
James Brick, 
Samuel Bi inton, 
Lieut. Jednthctn Bulle i, 
Daniel Bullen, 
Ashbel Bullen, 
Sergt. Isaac Bullard, 
Henry Bullard. 
Henry Bullard, Jun'r, 
Eli Bullard, 
Adam Bullard, 
Joshua Bullard, 
Henry Burk, 
Jesse Carpenter, 
Lieut. Asa Clark, 
Benjamin Clark, 
Francis Clark, 
Elijah Clark, 
Nath'l Clark, 
Elijah (Mark, Jun'r, 
Eliphaz Chip, 
Damon Clifford, 
Nathan Coolidge, 
Ishmael Coffee, 
Thomas Coffee, 
Jeremiah Crocker. 
Jeremiah Curtis, 
Elisha Cutler, 
Lovel Cushing, 
W'ilm. Damsey, 
John Davidson, 



98 



John Dickerson, 

Jesse Day, 

Isaiah Daniell, 

Levi Daniell, 

Jesse Daniell, 

Capt. Jeremiah Daniels, 

Asa Daniels, Jun'r, 

David Daniels, 

Samuel Demon, 

Charles Dupee, 

John Ellis, 

Ehenezer Ellis, 

Asa Ellis, 

Abel Ellis, 

Jonathan Ellis, 

Elijah Ellis, 

Paul Ellis, 

Corp. Abijah Fairbanks, 

Silas Fairbanks, 

Ashael Fairbanks, 

Elijah Farrington, 

Corp. Obed Fisher, 

Nathan Fisher, 

Nathan Fisher, Jun'r, 

Cyrus Fisher, 

Henry Flemming, 

Peter Frost, 

Asa Fuller, 

Josiah Fuller, 

Josiah Ide, 

John Gould, 

Jutham Graves, 

Jonathan Graves, 

Capt. Timothy Uamant, 

Capt. Samuel Harding, 

Corp. Stephen Harding, 

John Harding, 2nd, 

Ichabod Harding, 



Capt Joseph Daniell, 
Joseph Daniell, Jun'r, 
Henry Daniell, 
Lemeuel Daniell, 
Corp. Jeremiah Daniel, 
Henry Daniels, Jun'r, 
Moses Daniels, 
Levi Daniels, 
Seth Dixon, 
Lieut. John Ellis, Jun'r, 
Timothy Ellis, 
Henry Ellis, 
Abuer Ellis, 
Eli Ellis, 
Asa Ellis, Jun'r, 
William Ellis, 
Sergt. Jonathan Everet, 
George Fairbanks, Jun'r, 
Joel Fairbanks, 
Jothan Fairbanks, 
Ebenezer Ferrington, 
John W. Fisher, 
Samuel Fisher, 
Samuel Fisher, Jun'r, 
Jonathan Fisher, 
Jonathan Foster, 
Capt. Josiah Fuller, 
Bartholomew Fuller, 
Lieut Daniel Ide, 
Calvin Cay, 
Nathan Grout, 
Lieut. Joshua Gould, 
David Hagar, 
Lieut. John Harding, 
Corp. Elias Harding, 
Lieut. Abraham Harding, 
Abraham Harding, Jun'r, 
Thomas Harding, 



100 



Theodor Harding, 

Isaac Harding, 

Sergt. Erastus Harris, 

Nathan Hall, 

Joel Hawes, 

Eli Hawes, 

Sam. Ilayvvard, 

John Hill, 

Moses Hill, 

Samuel Hill, Jun'r, 

Seth Ilixon, 

Zebulon Hodges, 

Corp. Cornelius Holbrook, 

Jonathan Holbrook, 

Matthew Hopkins, 

John Sylvester Johnson, 

Abel Jones, 

Thomas Jones, 

Saoi'l Jones, 

John Kilburn, 

Sergt. Stephen Kingsbury, 

James Kingsbury, 

Capt. Joseph Lovell, 

Timothy Lane, 

Josiah Lawrence, 

Jeremiah Littlefteld, 

William Lee, 

Ebenezer Lyon, 

Sergt. Seth Mason, 

David MacLane, 

Joseph Metcalf, 

Flanun Metcalf, 

Theodore Mann, 

Lieut. Henry Morse, 

Joel Morse, 

Joseph Morse, 

Abner Morse, 

Sylvanus Morse, 

Thomas Morse, 



Thomas Harding, Jun'r, 
Job Harding, 
David Harris, 
Ichabod Hawes, 
Ichabod Hawes, Jun'r, 
John Hawes, 
Sergt. Simon Hill, 
Samuel Hill, 
Jacob Hart, 
Enoch Hill, 
Serg. Isaac Heton, 
Lieut. Aaron Holbrook, 
Paul Holbrook, 
Henry Holbrook, 
David Hoges, 
Albert Jones, 
Nathan Jones, 
Simson Jones, 
Isaac Kibbe, 
Corp. Isaac Kilbee, 
Corp. Asa Kingsbury, 
Ebenezer Knowlton, 
Nathaniel Lovell, 
Amos Lawrence, 
John Littlefteld, 
Elihu Lawrence, 
Robord Long, 
Daniel Marrow, 
Corp. Job Manston, 
Corp. Ozias Metcalf, 
Luther Metcalf, 
Timothy Metcalf, 
Michael Metcalf, 
Sergt. James Morse, 
Josiah Morse, 
Samuel Morse, 
John Morse, 
Uriah Morse, 
Andrew Nelson, 



102 



Samuel Noble, 

Sergt. David Partridge, 

Nathan Partridge, 

Nathaniel Partridge, 

Seth Partridge, 

Seth Partridge, Jun'r, 

Zeba Partridge, 

James Perry, 

Capt. James Penniman, 

Sergt. Eli Pond, 

Barzillai Pond, 

Corp. Job Plympton, 

Sergt. Amos Richardson, 

Asa Richardson, 

Jesse Richardson, 

Elisha Richardson, 

Oliver Richardson, 

Jason Richardson, 

Abijah Richardson, 

William Ray, 

Moses Rock wood, 

George Riley, 

Chaplain David Smford, 

Ichabod Seaver, 

Nathan Smith, 

Jabez Shumway, 

William Stinner, 

George Sumner, 

Lieut. Moses Thompson, 

Samuel Thompson, 

Nathan Turner, 

Simeon Turner, 

Obed Ware, 

Sergt. John Wheeler, 

John Whiting, 

Charles White, 

Peter Wight, 

George Straten, 

Total, 



Capt. Joshua Partridge, 
Corp. Joel Partridge, 
Samuel Partridge, 
Moses Partridge, 
Simeon Partridge, 
Joshua Partridge, Jun'r, 
Benjamin Parnel, 
Eliphalet Pierce, 
Jonathan Pierce, 
Moses Pond, 
Jedidiah Phillips, 
John PI3 mpton, 
Corp. Si me in Richardson, 
Daniel Richardson, Jun'r, 
Moses Richardson, 
John Richardson, 
Ezra Richardson, 
Moses Richardson, Jun'r, 
Joshua Richardson, 
Jonathan Ralph, 
Asa Kobbins, 
Philo Sant'ord, 
Ichabod Sen or, 
Denny Sheffield, 
John Smith, 
Will'm Southworth, 
Joseph South wortb, 
Nathan Thayer, 
Timothy Thompson. 
Amos Turner, 
Jacob Turner, 
Amos Turner, Jun'r, 
Daniel Ware, 
Jonathan Wlneler, 
John Whitney, 
Joshua Whitney, 
Samuel Wight, 
Cornelius Youngman. 



330. 



Revolutionary Soldiers Buried in the Old Church 
Yard Cemetery in Millis. 



Dates of 
Birth and Death. 

Oliver Adams, 1738 1816. 

('apt. Jonathan Adams, 1709-1804. 

Elisha Adams, 1718-1781. 

Jonathan Adams, 17:57-1818. 

Amos Billiard, 1752-1843. 

Jeduthan Kullen, 1751-1830. 

Daniel Bullen, 17-29-1801. 
John Billiard. 

Henry Buliard, 1723-1799. 

Timothy Buliard, 1740-1827. 

Henry Buliard, Jr., 1749-1824. 

Isaac Buliard, 1743-1832. 

George Barber, 1743-1832. 

Rev. Nathan Bucknam, 1703-1795. 

Stephen Clark, 1743-1820. 

Lt. Theo Clark, 1741-1827. 

David Clark, 1718-1803. 

Elijah Clark, 1726-1801. 

Timothy Clark, 1734-1807. 

Jeremiah Curtis, 1757-1804. 

Jesse Daniels, 1760-1837. 

Dea. Asa Daniels, 1753-1840. 

Lemeuel Daniels, 1757-1818. 

('apt. Jeremiah Daniels, 1754-1830. 

.Moses Daniels, 1736-1800. 

Henry Daniels, 1708-1806. 

Henry Daniels, Jr., 1739-1815. 

Capt. Joseph Daniels, 1736-1823. 

Henry Ellis, 1736 -1822. 

Asa Ellis, 1727-1784. 

Lt. John Ellis, Jr., 1727-1809. 

John Ellis, Jr., 1755-1826. 

Ebenezer Ellis, 1729-1819. 



104 

Silas Fairbanks, 1745-1823. 

Lt. Abraham Harding, 1730-1819. 

Stephen Harding, 1752-1835. 

Lt. John Harding, 1693-1782. 

Capt. S. Harding, 1693-1780. 

Capt. T. Harding, 1698-1780. 

Capt. T. Hammond, 1736-1813. 

Thomas Harding, Jr., 1760-1853. 

Simon Hill, 1738-1802. 

Enoch Hill, 1728-1793. 

Samuel Hill, 1736-1815. 

Capt. S. Jones, 1755-1825. 

Nathan Jones, 17»i2- 

Capt. Joseph Lovell, 1741-1827. 

Nath. Lovell, 1748-1824. 

Ozias Metcalf, 1744-1777. 

Timothy Metcalf, 1718-1779. 

Uriah Morse, 1709-1789. 
Thomas Morse. 

Ziba Partridge, 1761-1831. 

Samuel Partridge, 1752-1842. 

Seth Partridge, 1736-1807. 

Joshua Partridge, 1745-1802. 

Capt. J. Partridge, 1713-1795. 

Benj. Parnell, 1746-1831. 

Jedediah Phillips, 1762-1844. 
Capt. James Penniman, 1726-1804. 
Dr. Abijah Richardson, 1752-1822. 

Ezra Richardson, 1745-1802. 

Moses Richardson, 1717-1797. 

Moses Richardson, Jr., 1740-1826. 

Elisha Richardson, 1745-1810. 

Daniel Richardson, 1721-1779. 

Oliver Richardson, 175 4-1S45. 

Asa Richardson, 1747 1851. 

Simeon Richardson, 1744-1825. 

Capt. Amos Turner, 1730-1780. 

Amos Turner, 1700-1820. 



105 

John Wheeler, 171-2-1788. 

Jonathan Wheeler, 1718-1796. 

John Whitney, 1749 



Revolutionary Soldiers Buried in the Old Cemetery 
at West Medway. 



Dates of 
Birth and Death. 
('apt. Moses Adams, 1731-1815. 
Lieut. Jonathan Adams, 1752-1849. 
Phineas Adams. 

Gen. Eliakim Adams, 1755-1807. 
Timothy Adams, 1758-1831. 

Titus Adams, 1758-1808. 

Obidiah Adams, 1758-1820. 

Joseph Barber, 1731-1812. 

Simeon Cutler, 1738-1826. 

Asa Clark, 1730-1810. 

.lames Clark, Jr., 1724 1786. 

Joseph Clark, 1700-1779. 

Elisha Cutler, 1738-1806. 

Timothy Ellis, 17:;.") 1798. 

Simeon Fisher, 1748-1818. 

Asa Fuller, _ 1 s 8 » J . 

Ichabod Harding, 1721-1794. 

Capt. John Harding, 1756-1833. 
Ichabod Hawes, 1719 1777. 

Seth Hixon, 1734 -1821. 

Isaac Hi. von, 1762 1849. 

Lieut.JonathanHolbrook,1746-1793. 
Lieut. Daniel Ede, 1726 1813. 

Josiah [de, 1758-177^. 

Maj. Luther Metcalf, 1757 L838. 
Ralph .Mann, 1745 1825. 

Capt. Simeon Partridge, 17G0-1832. 



106 

Joel Partridge, 1750-1825. 

Barzillai Pond, 1759-1823. 

Lieut. John Pond, 1751-1776. 

Moses Pond, 1787-1832. 

Capt. Job Plimton, 1723-1797. 

Moses Rockwood, 1737-1823. 

Lev. David Sanford, 1737-1810. 

Philo Sanford, 1761-1835. 

Jabez Shumway, 1747-1821. 
Lieut. Moses Thompson, 1728-1794. 
Lieut. Nathan Whiting, 1725-1790. 

Dr. Aaron Wight, 1760-1831. 



RELIGIOUS SOCIETIES ESTABLISHED IN 
MEDWAY. 



First Church of Christ, (East Medway, now Millis) ITU. 

Second Congregational Church, (West Medway) 1750. 

Baptist Church, (West Medway) 1819. 

Universal Friend's Society, 1S23-1830. 

Third Congregational Church, (East Medway) 1830 L865 

Village Evangelical Church, (Medway) 1838. 

St. Joseph's Church, (Medway) 1850. 

Methodist Episcopal Church, (West Medway) 1857. 

St. Clement's P. E., (Millis) 1865-1871. 

Christ Church P. E., (Medway) 1874. 

Third Congregational Church, (West Medway) 1886 1891. 

Jewish Synagogue, (Medway) 1899. 

Jewish Synagogue, (Millis) 1910. 



MEDWAY IN THE CIVIL WAR. 



President Lincoln's first call for Volunteers, dated April 
15, 1861, was responded to by seven men : — 

Amos L. Fuller, George W. Mahr, 

William S. Partridge, William H. Dunbar, 

Addison T. Hastings, Egbert O. Hixon, 

Francis L. B. Monroe. 

Co. E, Second Mass. Regiment. 

A company was formed in April, 1861, and drilled under 
Captain David Daniels of Militia fame. Early in May, it was 
found that by waiving their choice of officers from their own 
number, they could at once join a regiment, under command 
of Colonel George H. Gordon, and it was unanimously voted 
to do so. This was the first regiment raised in the North for 
three years' seivice, and on May 20th eighty men took train 
from this town and went into camp at Brook Farm, in West 
Roxbury. Tney were mustered into service on the same day, 
as Co. E. Fifty- four of these eighty men were citizens of 
Medway, and the remainder from neighboring towns. On 
June 26th, the flags, now in Memorial Hall at the State House, 
were presented to the regiment, and carried through the hard- 
est battles, and never lost or surrendered. On July 8th, the 
regiment left for Virginia, dining on Boston Common before 
taking the tram. The principal battles in which they served, 
from 18(51 to 1«64, were Cedar Mountain, Antietam, Winches- 
ter, Chancellorsville, Gettysburg and Resaca. In 1863, they 
were sent to New York City to help quell the draft riots, and 
remained there two weeks, camping in City Hall Square. The 
engagements in which they took part were in the Upper Po- 
tomac region, Valley of Virginia, Kentucky and Tennessee. 
The lamented Colonel Shaw and Wilder Dwight were officers 
of this regiment. The late William R. Parsons was chosen 



no 



first sergeant of Co. E. at Camp Andrew, before leaving Bos- 
ton. The only surviving members of Co. E., now living in 
this town, are Michael Slavin and Charles M. Disper. 

Up to July, 1862, thirty-nine volunteers, enlisted in dif- 
ferent regiments from this town. Thirty-eight answered the 
President's call for three-year men July, 1862, and forty- eight 
responded to the call of August, for nine months' service ; 
twelve men were secured in an additional call for three-year 
men at the same time. 

From October, 1863, to March, 1864, sixty-seven men 
volunteered for three years. la July, 1864, forty-four men enlist- 
ed for one hundred days' service, and thirty-two for a longer 
period of service. Seven Med way men joined the naval forces 
of the Government in 1864. In December, 1864, forty-six men 
were credited to this town on the last call for volunteers, 
made by the President. 

The town paid $35,677.96 for its soldiers, in bounties and 
aid to families, and during the four years' prosecution of the 
war, fully kept up to the high standard set by our Common- 
wealth. 



Union Soldiers from Medway. 
186M865. 



Lord M. Ackert, 
Calvin Adams, 
Charles C. Adams, 
Erastus 'Adams, 
Milton S. Adams, 
Silas l J . Adams, 
William Adams, 
George II. Allen, 
Edward L. Andrews, 
George II. Andrews, 
William O. Andrews, 
Albert A. Ballou, 



Daniel Ackley, 
Charles A. Adams, 
Etiakim A. J. Adams, 
George W. Adams, 
Samuel B. Adams, 
Stephen P. Adams, 
Charles Allen, 
Sydney W. Allen, 
Frank B. Andrews, 
James Andrews, 
George W. Armitage, 
George W. Ballou, 



Ill 



George W. Bancroft, 

Edward C. Harrows, 
George II. Barton, 
David II. Benner, 
Asaph M. Bisbee, 
Adin P. Blake, 
William F. Britton, 
George Brown, 
George F. Brown, 2d, 
James Brown, 
Lewis Buffuuo, 
Elbridge II. Bullard, 
Joel P. Bullard, 
Edward M. Bullen, 
Jacob W. Butler, 
Alfred A. C'ary, 
Samuel B. Cary, 
Jeremiah Cassidy, 
Calvin Clatiin, 
Albert L. Clark, 
Charles Clark, 
David A. Clark, 
Frederick F. Clark, 
James W. Clark, 
Warren A. Clark, 
Alfred Clifford, 
John Coad, 
Samuel P. Coffan, 
John Conly, 
David F. Coville, 
Alexander M. Cashing, 
Henry \i. Dain, 
Edward Daniels, 
Joseph L. Daniels, 
William D. Daniels, 
David S. Darling, 
Amos F. Davis, 
Sheppard Davis, 



Newell Barber, 
George W. Bartlett, 
Alfred R. Bell, 
Marshall A Bent, 
Aaron II. Blake, 
Charles \V. Braekett, 
Aaron Brown, 
George F. Brown, 
Henry \V. Brown, 
Robert W. Brown, 
Albert F. Bullard, 
George W. Bullard, 
Sylvanus Bullard, 
Charles E. Burr, 
John Carr, 
Charles E. Cary, 
John W. Cass, 
William II. Chace, 
Albert II. Clark, 
Asa Clark, 
Charles S. Clark, 
Edmund N. Clark, 
George E. Clark, 
Sewell ,!. Clark, 
William B. Clark, 
Joseph C. Clifford, 
John W. Codding, 
Charles H. Cole, 
Timothy Coughlin, 
Charles E. Cunimings, 
Alonzo M. Dain, 
Charles II. Daniels, 
Henry .1 Daniels, 
William A. Daniels, 
Timothy Daley, 
Jesse Darling, 
Edwin S. Davis, 
Benjamin F. Dexter, 



112 



Charles M. Disper, 
Patrick J. Donovan, 
Thomas Durty, 
Shubael E. Dunbar, 
Alonzo Dunton, 
Charles H. Everett, 
Albert F. Fales, 
John M. Fales, 
John Fendt, 
Frank L. Fisher, 
George S. Fisher, 
Theodore W. Fisher, 
Julius A. Fitts, 
Michael Fitzgerald, 
James B. Flaherty, 
Emmons Force, 
William W. Forman, 
Peter Foster, 
George F. French, 
Charles F. Fuller, 
George E. Fuller, 
James A. Gale, 
John Glancy, 
Joseph H. Gould, 
Charles A. Grant, 
Frank S. Grant, 
Harrison G. Grant, 
John P. Green, 
George II. Greenwood, 
John T. Greenwood, 
Thomas Hackett, 
Daniel Hammond, 
John Harney, 
Thomas J. Harrington, 
Edward P. Hart, 
Addison T. Hastings, 
William C. Hawes, 
James II. Heaton, 



Francis T. Dodge, 
John F. Driscoll, 
Amos A. Dugan, 
William H. Dunbar, 
John M. Durgin, 
George B. Everett, 
James E. Fales, 
John Farren, 
Charles EL Fisher, 
George II. Fisher, 
Lewis L Fisher, 
Willard P. Fisher, 
James Fitzgerald, 
Andrew Fitzsimmons, 
Thomas Flaherty, 
Silas Force, 
George J. Foster, 
William B. Foster, 
Amos L. Fuller, 
George A. Fuller, 
George F. Fuller, 
Patrick Gallagher, 
John Gormly, 
Charles Grant, 
Edwin A. Grant, 
George O. Grant, 
James M. Grant, 
George E. Greenwood, 
Isaac C. Greenwood, 
Joseph A. Greenwood, 
Robert Hall, 
George B. Hardy, 
Peter Harrington, 
William Harrold, 
Michael Hart, Jr., 
William 1 1 awes, 
Albert M. Hay ward, 
John Henry, 



113 



James T. Higgins, 
Edmund W. Hill, 

.Most s Hill, 
Alonzo Hixon, 
George 11 Hixon, 
Edwin II. Holbrook, 

Dennis Hosnier, 
John <i. Hosnier, 
Alvin W. Houghton, 
George H. Ide, 
Edmund A. Jones, 
Francis Kenny, 
Martin M. Keith, 
John II. Kendall, 
Tat rick Killaly, 
Frank \V. Kimball, 
George H. Kingsbury, 
Annah I. add, 
George F. Leavitt, 
Horatio T. Leonard, 
William Lilley, 
Charles MeGorty, 
Albert W. .Mann, 
George F. Marden, 
George E. Mason, 
Thomas II. Matthews, 
Peter Mawn, 
James B. May, 
John McCabe, 
James M oCo wan, 
Richard B. McElroy, 
James McLaughlin, 
Thomas McNamara, 
John Miller, 
James Mitchell, 
John Monks, 
Francis L. B. Monroe, 
Andrew Morse, 



John Higgins, 
Lewis s. Hill, 
John Hirl, 
Egbert (). Hixon, 
Edward Hogan, 
James T. Holmes, 
Edwin II. Hosnier, 
Albert ('. Houghton, 
Joseph 11. Howard, 
George A. Jacobs, 
John B. Jones, 
Cornelius Keating, 
William F. Kemp, 
Joseph Kirsher, 
Charles C. Kimball, 
Charles G. Kingsbury, 
William Kirby, 
James E. Lawrence, 
Gilbert H. Leland, 
John Leonard, 
John Looby, 
George W. Mahr, 
Frank V. Mann, 
William M. Martin, 
Simon L. Mason, 
William II. Matthews, 
Edward A. May, 
Daniel McAlevy, 
John McCann, 
Gilbert McCallom, 
Thomas McKenna, 
Christopher MeXamara, 
William F. Merritt, 
Lewis L. Miller, 
James S. Mitchell, 
Alexander L. B. Monroe, 
Amos B. Morse, 
Eleazer Morse, 



114 



Frederic D. Morse, 
Robert T. Morse, 
Charles Murray, 
George L Meyer, 
John Nolan, 
William A. Nolan, 
Hugh O'Brien, 
John O' tiara, 
Thomas O'Rourke, 
William R Parsons, 
George V. Partridge, 
William S. Partridge, 
George E. Pettes, 
John A. Pierce, 
Jonathan Pitcher, 
Edwin D. Pond, 
George E. Pond, 
Oscar A. Pond, 
Alpheus Proctor, 
Stephen F. Purdy, 
George H. Read, 
Thomas Reise, 
Benjamin Remmick, 
George H. Rich, 
James G. Richards, 
Emory Richardson, 
Joseph II. Richardson, 
Henry M. Rockwood, 
Chandler W. Sanders, 
Melvin Sawyer, 
John Scott, 
George T. Simpson, 
Michael Slavin, 
William Smith, 
Herman S. Sparrow, 
James Spelman, 
George A. Stedman, 
George II. Stratton, 



Milton II. Morse, 
Daniel Mundon, 
James F. Murphy, 
William D. Newland, 
John Nolan, 
George E. Nourse, 
Michael O'Donnell, 
Alfred Onion, 
Charles Osborne, 
David A Partridge, 
Warren J. Partridge, 
William E. Pettingill. 
William H. Pettis, 
Ezra Pierson, 
Edwin C. Pond, 
Elmer H. Pond, 
George O. Pond, 
Asa D. Prescott, 
Franklin Proctor, 
Patrick Raferty, 
Patrick Regan, 
Timothy Reardon, 
George S. Rice, 
Henry T. Rich, 
Addison W. Richardson, 
Henry S. Richardson, 
Brougham Roberts, 
Thomas Rollins, 
George S. Sanl'ord, 
Michael Sch( field, 
Richard Searles, 
Frank X. Sinzinger, 
Edmund J. Smith, 
Henry L. Snell, 
Philip O. Sparrow, 
Matthew M. S perry, 
Charles H. Stewart, 
John S. Stratton, 



116 



Frederick Swarnian, 
Avery Sylvester, 
William II. Thomas, 
Henry Tibbets, 
Charles II. Torrey, 
John S. Treen, 
Lucius M. Turner, 
Edward G Tutein, 
Albert L. Vallet, 
Jeremiah Vase, 
Charles Wardin, 
George C. Webber, 
Alfred C. Wheat, 
Edward II. Wheeler, 
James Whitcomb, 
John Whitman, 
Charles E. Whitney, 
Albert II. Wiley, 
Allen T. Williams, 
George H. Williams, 
John Winter, 
Henry A. Wood, 
Daniel 8. Woodman, 
James G. Young, 
Robert O. Young. 

Total, 



John H. Swarman, 
John Tevlin, 
John Thompson, 
Benjamin C. Tinkham, 
James J. Treanor, 
Lewis A. Treen, 
William H. Turner, 
Albert Vallet, 
John H. Vallet, 
John Walch, 
John Watts, 
James Welch, 
Henry Wheat, 
Lewis Wheeler, 
Samuel O. White, 
Charles Whitney, 
George W. Whitney, 
John Willey, 
Charles E. Williams, 
Horace J. Wilmarth, 
Emery Wood, 
Levi Preston Wood, 
William P. Wyman, 
Orson D. Young, 



377 men. 



SPANISH-AMERICAN WAR. 



The following Medway men served in the Spanish- 
American war : 

Harry C. Adams, Frederick L. Clark, 

John E. Cullen, George Holmes, 

Lloyd T. Hunter, Clyde C. Hunt, 

Walter C. Gilmore, Eugene C. L. Morse, 

John E. O'Hara, William Spear, 
Walter C. Shorts. 



014 078 831 4